Adobe Shockwave Player Error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mpeet611

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
772
I've been trying to load the online game Metal Mayhem World Tour on shockwave.com & addictinggames.com & as soon as the ad ends the Local Storage Settings pop-up for flash player comes up with a message saying "Please uncheck the never box to play". When this message appears on both sites the never box in always unchecked so i click the close button & it doesn't respond like it's frozen but IE 11 isn't frozen because it still works normally. I tried other games on both sites & they load normally so the problem is with this one game. I already tried reinstalling flash player & shockwave player with no change to the games. I'll post a screenshot of the error message so you can see it for yourself.

Additional Info: I sent an email to shockwave.com informing them of this problem so when they respond i'll post it here.

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU 2127U @ 1.90GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 3983 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 1799 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 454712 MB, Free - 398642 MB;
Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0FXP6Y
Antivirus: AVG AntiVirus Free Edition 2015, Updated and Enabled
 

Attachments

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,117
Open the Flash Player applet in the Control Panel.

Select the "Storage" tab.

Select "Allow sites to save information on this computer".

See if that helps.

-----------------------------------------------------------
 

mpeet611

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
772
Hey Flavalee, i went to the flash player applet like you said & the setting you told me to select was already selected.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,117
Hey Flavalee, i went to the flash player applet like you said & the setting you told me to select was already selected.
Okay, good. (y)

----------------------------------------------------------

I don't play on-line shockwave/flash games, so I'm not familiar with that issue and how to resolve it.

I'll leave you with someone else who can hopefully resolve it.

-----------------------------------------------------------
 

mpeet611

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
772
I just got the game to work in google chrome. I had to go to chrome://flags & enable npapi support because the newest version has it disabled by default. Once i did that shockwave player was able to load the game in chrome without a problem. Looks like the problem is somewhere in IE 11 or the active x version of flash. Hopefully somebody with more knowledge can help me get it working in IE since chrome will permanently remove npapi support when version 45 comes out sometime this summer & shockwave requires npapi support to run.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,117
I just got the game to work in google chrome.
(y)

I've never used Google Chrome, so I'm not familiar with its features and settings.

--------------------------------------------------------
 

mpeet611

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
772
I got an email from shockwave games on this issue. Here's what they said

Thank you for contacting Shockwave Games.

The error you encountered is likely caused by damage to your Shockwave or Flash Player plug-ins. This can usually be fixed by uninstalling and then reinstalling the players.

Uninstall Shockwave via the Control Panel. Go to Add/Remove programs (or Programs and Features) and choose Macromedia or Adobe Shockwave Player.

To remove the Flash Player, download the uninstaller here:

http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/141/tn_14157.html

*IMPORTANT: After uninstalling both Players, restart your computer.

Next, reinstall both the Shockwave and Flash Players by downloading the installers here (on the right side, under Readers and Players):

http://www.adobe.com/downloads/

When starting your game, try closing all other applications. Some games can use up a lot of RAM, and the more applications you have running at the same time, the more likely it is that you will encounter errors.

*NOTE: To use our site, Java & JavaScript must be enabled in your Internet browser's preferences.

Please let us know if you need further assistance.

Regards,
Shockwave Games
When i uninstalled flash player i didn't use the uninstaller in the quoted email because i didn't know about it. I'll try it later today or tomorrow when i have more time to do it.
 

mpeet611

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
772
I finally had a chance to reinstall Adobe Flash Player & Adobe Shockwave Player using the uninstaller i got from Shockwave Games in the quoted email above & it didn't help because the error message that can be seen in the screenshot i posted in my first post continues. All other games are unaffected.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top