ADSL Modem slowing computer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

BlackHorseman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
451
Hi,

Well, not so long ago I got ADSL. In the process of the modem installation I got two new icons added to my system tray: one, I think, is 'CSA', whatever that might be, and the other just says: 'Unplug or Eject Hardware'.

I double clicked the second one, unchecked the box saying 'Show Icon in System Tray', and it was goan. The 'CSA' icon has an option to be removed from the tray icon too.

The question:
Do I need those apps constantly running in the BG? Can I remove them from the tray, prevent them from starting at startup, and only run them when I connect?

They slow my computer a great deal, getting really molases-like.

Thanks,
Daniel.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Without knowing something about your service, it's hard to say what those programs are doing. I have cable modem service, and I've installed DSL for several folks, and we never use any of the ISP's software. You should post more details, what kind of ADSL modem, etc.
 

BlackHorseman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
451
I have a DirectCom ADSL USB Modem, A360;
5Vdc, 500mA.
(In Device Manager:
A360 (Native ATM Mode))

It's connected to my USB Card (I think it's what the entry in the Device Manager, in 'Universal Serial BUS Controllers' that says: 'USB Root Hub' is referring to).

I hope that's enough :)

Daniel.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Who is your ISP?
It could just be a diagonostic software but not sure.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2002
Messages
1,157
If you can click on the Connect icon and stay connected without those two items running in the systray, then that is proof enough that they are not needed. As Del says, one of them will probably be a Diagnostic Tool. I got one with my ADSL modem, but I disabled it in msconfig.
There'll probably also be the same icon/s available in the relevant "Start -> Programs" folder, so you can start them from there if they're ever needed again.
 

BlackHorseman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
451
Well, my connection works fine without those two programs running in the BG.

BTW - when right clicking on various icons in the system tray, there is often an option there to 'remove tray icon'. Now, this probably is a stupid question, but selecting that option would not necessarily mean the termination of the associated process, right?

:)

Daniel.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Right, takes it out the tray, but still running in background.
 

BlackHorseman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
451
Well, I have removed them from the 'Run' folder in the registry, so they dont start at all. So far, so good....

:)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top