1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Advanced Browser

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Reviews' started by lizard, Sep 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lizard

    lizard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,578
    FREE!
    Advanced Browser. (y) (y)
    Turns those nagging, resource-hogging flash animations into whitespace. Gone!
    I've been using it for days and haven't had a pop-over or pop-under yet!
    I'm surfing faster than ever!

    Some features from the Advanced Browser website...

    I've tried Internet Explorer, Opera, and Firefox. I can say that 'Advanced Browser' is the fastest and most accomodating browser I've ever used.
    Try It!!!! It's FREE!!!!! (y) (y)
     
  2. HenryVI

    HenryVI

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Looks like the Avant browser in a sense....
     
  3. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    Doesn't this still run on IE's engine, just with a new front-end?
     
  4. ekim68

    ekim68 Mike

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    47,111
    Thanks. I'll check it out..How many days you been running it? And, does it sit well
    with other browsers on your system?
     
  5. lizard

    lizard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,578
    Hi Henry!
    I haven't checked the "Avant Browser", but in the "Advanced Browser" Tools>Advanced Browser Options>Clear Records Tab: it also shows the name "Intellibrowser" :eek: :confused: , But it still works good. (y) :D

    I have a PII with only 128Mb ram and was getting fed up with all the 'click and wait' I was getting with IE...even with DSL High-speed...and constantly clearing cookies...and downloaded program files....and no way to turn off flash that I could find, etc, etc. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
     
  6. lizard

    lizard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,578
    Hi brendandonhu!
    I'm not technical enough to know, but it reads IE bookmarks without having to import them(that I noticed), if that is any clue...
     
  7. lizard

    lizard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,578
    HI Eskim68!
    You're Welcome. :)
    I've been running it for about 5 days. I can run IE or Opera at the same time. I've uninstalled Firefox so I didn't check that one. Advanced Browser asks if you want to make it your primary browser. Is there anything specfic you were referring to when you asked if it 'sits well'?
     
  8. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    FYI- It is Internet Explorer with a new coat of paint, so all the security issues there still apply.
     
  9. ekim68

    ekim68 Mike

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    47,111
    'new coat of paint'? Is this an MS thing?
     
  10. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    It still uses IE's engine to render web pages. The difference is the new front-end look on Advanced Browser.
     
  11. lizard

    lizard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,578
    Hmm...interesting. How did you verify that? I'm not being doubtful of your finding, just would like to know so I can check myself in future.

    With that bit of news then, Advanced Browser uses the IE 'engine' much better than Microsoft, IMHO. Advanced Browser is much faster than IE. I hardly have the time to sit and watch the page load anymore like I used to with IE, :( .... :D they just flash up on the screen in a wink. That's what I like. :) (y) (y)

    As far as I know, without a good firewall and anti-virus, there will always be security issues no matter which browser is used.

    Does any browser incorporate all the necessities needed to surf safely?
    Firewall, anti-virus, anti-trojan, anti-etc..?
     
  12. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    If you check the user-agent and other info it sends when you visit a website, it identifies itself as Internet Explorer 6. A browser with built in firewall and antivirus would be a bit bloated, I'd say.
     
  13. rameam

    rameam

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    I d/l and installed. Couldn't even get it to work. Wouldn't load a web page. Doesn't seem to be as good as even Slimbrowser, much less Firefox. Am I missing something?
     
  14. lizard

    lizard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,578
    I went to a web-site that returns your browser user_agent info and you are 100% correct. I also noticed along the way, that user_agent_string can be changed to whatever you want. What is the usefulness of the user_agent_string? Does a website program check this string when you see source code such as 'isIE' ?
    I guess it would be a bit bloated, but if it's all for one purpose, why have a bunch of programs to load instead of one? Maybe a firewall should be included in browsers. I see anti-virus, anti-spy, etc, as being functions of the OS.
     
  15. lizard

    lizard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,578
    I'm using it right now. I'm also testing Avant browser (very similar). http://www.avantbrowser.com/download.html
    And I'll be trying Slimbrowser later today. (y) I've read that it has a spellchecker that I won't need. Maybe that feature can be turned off.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/398644