Advice: Having a Windows 7 OS in the Cloud

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

symba06

Hi Everyone!

Hopefully this is the right place for this question. I'm an experienced PC user but only now I'm starting to wrap my head around Cloud services and solutions.

I work as a Mechanical Engineer, and I rely on a lot of high-end engineering applications to perform my work. These applications also require a lot of resources, like fast processors and big chunks of data.

What I'm looking for now is a solution that allows me to my whole Windows 7 OS as it is (installed apps, current settings, current data) through the internet. Meaning, if my computer eventually breaks down or was lost or stolen, I'm able to access my OS immediately through a Cloud / VPS service / Virtual Machine, and can carry on the work like nothing happened.

Are there solutions like this, and if yes, what would you recommend? And most importantly, are these solutions safe?

Fireflycph

Morten
I've never heard of a OS being stored and being accessible in the "Cloud" I've heard of apps and data running from "cloud" as in some kind of virtual machine. But that'll still require hardware and an internet connection. Plus you need to find a service that offers the exact apps that you need. I think that'll be hard to find for more specialized apps.