1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

{Advice offered} - Advice needed

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by edie209, Sep 18, 2000.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. edie209

edie209 Thread Starter

hello
    I hope someone can help me. I currently work as a Field Support Engineer for the Post Office, but I will soon be changing jobs and working for a local secondary school as Network Manager.
    There appears to have been no documenting of the network as it has grown, as many different people have been administering at different times.
    I would like your views on how to approach this situation, causing the least amount of disturbance to the network but enabling me to gather as much info as possilbe.

many thanks to you all in advance

marc

2. Reuel Miller

Reuel Miller

Greetings

My advice: Go in on a weekend and re-install everything [​IMG]

Ok, now onto more practical advice:

Firstly, get a picture of the network. This means getting a floorplan of the buildings, walking around going from room to room, and writing down the number of PCs, the software OS (and service pack level, if applicable) installed, current hardware installed and the router they connect to.

Do the same for your servers. It is vitally important to know what hardware is in each PC, and what the specs of the PC are.