1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

advice on a graphics card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mcklk, Feb 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mcklk

mcklk Thread Starter

Hope this is the right place to post. I am about to purchase a Samsung 19in LCD 941? monitor for my Dell Dimension 4500. Apparently to get the full effects I would need to replace my graphics card. (I think the monitor has both analog and dvi) I really am not a "gamer" although my son does play a few on line games, therefore I would like to keep it under 80 dollars or so.
    My computer specs are as follows:
    Dell Dimension 4500 2.4 GHz / 512 mb Ram
    PCI 33 mhz
    AGP 66 mhz
    4x/2x modes at 1.5V

I currently run NVIDIA GeForce4 mx 420 which is PCI Bus 1

I am not a computer expert and want to install it myself....After some reading, AGP is better?
    Where is that on my computer? I looked at my manual..but I can't really tell although I am looking at it with a flashlight because I didn't disconnect things yet.

I was looking at the Diamond Stealth Radeon 9250/256 mb PCI or the
    NVidia GeForce 6200 AGP 8x video card

Are these any good. Any suggestions to a novice would be helpful...Thank You.

2. seahawk

seahawk

First off AGP and PCI are two different animals and go into different types of slots on the MB. Of the two, I suggest AGP if you have that slot available to you. AGP offers you more options and is a step above PCI for video.

3. xtreampb

xtreampb

from my experience AGP is the shorther brown slot usually located above all of the PCI cards

4. Flags

Flags