1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Advice on constructing related tables in MS Access

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by bobthesponge2, Oct 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bobthesponge2

bobthesponge2 Thread Starter

I would appreciate any help anyone could give on setting up related tables in Access -- it is my first time doing so, and I am not sure if I quite have the hang of it.

It is a database of software companies and their partner companies. The two tables (simplified for this forum) are:

Table 1: (Software company info where each row would be info for a different company)
    Software_ID (Autonumber)
    Software_Company_Name
    Locations

Table 2: (this contains information about partner companies)
    Partner_ID (Autonumber)
    Partner_Company_Name
    Partner_Company_City
    Software_Company_Name1
    Software_Company_Name2
    Software_Company_Name3

My questions were:
    1) In table 1, if I have multiple fields for locations (like Austin and Boston), is it wise to have multiple columns like: Location1, Location2, etc? Or is it better to have only one column for Location and then repeat the Company Name for each location?

2) As Table 2 shows, each partner has relationships with multiple software companies. I wasn't sure then how to relate the two table together

3) How exactly would I relate the two tables? Would the data in the fields have to be the same for them to be related?

Thanks so much in advance!

2. MustBNuts

MustBNuts

A couple of questions come to mind:

1. is there a difference between Location and City? Can you settle on Location?
    2. in your example, can a software company be a partner company?