Advice re ATI -v- Nvidia PCI-E cards

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

riffraff9

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2004
Messages
140
Hi.....

Can anyone assist re advice or their experiences with entry level PCI graphic cards (and I do mean 'entry' level - up to £70) Whilst I am reasonably up to speed with the specs and views regarding AGP cards, PCI is a bit of a mystery.

The card will be going into a new build for a friend of mine and it is being done on a very tight budget. There are no plans for game playing on it but by using a s939 Athlon 64 and PCI enabled mobo there will (hopefully) be an upgrade road

Thanks
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
1,756
PCI and PCI Express (PCIe) are very different things. PCIe is a new standard used for some high-end videocards (e.g. Radeon X800, GeForce 6600) whereas PCI is a much older standard, you would only get a PCI videocard if your motherboard is a cheaper model that doesn't have an AGP slot. PCIe is better than AGP, AGP is better than PCI.
 

riffraff9

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2004
Messages
140
Sorry - I am talking about PCI Express. Any thoughts of regarding ATI -v- Ndivia?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
355
id go nvidia, much better driver support, and if you are getting an sli board (not likely as you are on a budget) then you can get 2 gfx cards to work as one.

lets just say im an nvidia fanboy :p
and btw, my first gpu was an S3trio 4mb pci part what about you lot?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,954
And I like ATI. Either way you go would be fine. Both have their ups and downs. If you go Nvidia keep away from anything made by XFX. They have no support and their cards are crap.:mad:
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
355
Skivvywaver said:
And I like ATI. Either way you go would be fine. Both have their ups and downs. If you go Nvidia keep away from anything made by XFX. They have no support and their cards are crap.:mad:
yeah, they both got ups and downs, like nvidia are the rulers of doom3, but wtf is it with u and XFX??? i had no trouble with them when i got some gfx cards from 'em for some friends of mine. 3 cards, 2 died on the spot, sent em back, replaced AND full refund. nicely done i think.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2003
Messages
2,563
Maybe you were lucky. Everywhere i look and hear the name XFX (which is one of the most known makers to me because ive read alot) its most of the time a complaint.

While Nvidia takes doom3, ATI takes HL2 which is much better :D
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
355
personally, i havent noticed the difference. i saw one test where a 6800gt pci-e part beat off the X850-XTPE in half life 2 by about 10fps (on same pc exactly)

mabye just a weird anomaly, but cant ignore it either.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
1,756
My first GPU? That would be the MOS 8362R8 "Denise" graphics chip on the original Amiga 500, which I got in 1990. My first PC graphics card was a horrible 0.5MB Trident 9000 ISA thing, which I gratefully replaced with a super-fast 1MB Cirrus Logic GD5426 VLB card. My first 3D card would be a 2MB Matrox Mystique PCI card, although it didn't support any OpenGL acceleration, so if you mean my first proper 3D card, that would be a 6MB Canopus Pure3D PCI Voodoo1. My current gaming box has a 64MB GeForce4 MX420 and twin 12MB Voodoo2s in SLI. I'll upgrade when I find a new game that I really want to play that won't run on this system.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
1,756
obvious said:
damn, your old :)
I'm 25... I went to the local liquorstore the other day and got asked for ID, lady there reckoned I looked closer to 23, which I took as a compliment :p (they have to ID anyone who looks under 25, even though the legal age to buy alcohol is 18).
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
355
yeah i know what you mean, i got stopped from whatching a 12 cert film even though im 15! lol,funny.
 

riffraff9

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2004
Messages
140
If we looked at the X300 from ATI and the 6200 or 5300from Nvidia would I be missing a complete range or this the choices available?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top