1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Advise on low cost, reliable, easy to use VPN router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by SteveSeven, Jan 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SteveSeven

SteveSeven Thread Starter

I am not experienced with networking and have limited help locally. I work in an office with 4 PCs running Win XP Home edition. All machines are hooked through a Linksys BEFSR 41 LAN router, to the internet via a Toshiba cable modem.

We have another computer with WinXP Pro being installed and will be used to act as a host for files, programs, etc. File sharing will be set so any of us can access files whenever we need to. 2 of us also want to be able to work from home and so I've been told using a VPN router is the way to go. One person has suggested NetGear.

I am looking for a VPN router that will be low cost, easy to set up and maintain, and be reliable.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

2. valis

valis Moderator

so you need a vpn router, or can you just go with a regular router and vpn software? That would be a bit cheaper.

3. SteveSeven

valis: I was told I should use a vpn router. I don't know about the software. If the software is easier to set up and use, and also less expensive, than I'm certainly open to it. What software program would you recommend?

If I decided on a VPN routerr, what model would you suggest?

As I said, I'm not experienced with networking. Thanks for your help.

4. valis

valis Moderator

I dunno. I don't use a vpn router, as last I checked they ran about $150 up.....I could very easily be wrong, as that was some time ago, but you can hit newegg.com and search for vpn routers and find out rather fast.