1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Adware.OneStep" malware on computer - need help to remove

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Skitkorek, Apr 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Skitkorek

Skitkorek Thread Starter

Computer info. - Toshiba Satellite laptop with a 64 bit operating system. I am running Windows 7 Home Premium edition.

Security - McAfee Total Protection
    Malwarebytes Anti Maleware - free version
    Problem - Every time I run a security scan, it tells me that I have a problem called "Adware.OneStep" that needs to be removed. When trying to remove it, it says that they were unable to remove this threat. I have symptoms such as pop-up ads and likely slowing of the computer
    What I have done so far - I am a relative novice with computers. I did a search on this problem and here is what I found and have done so far.

Click the Windows "Start" button, then click "Control Panel."
    <LI id=jsArticleStep2 itxtvisited="1">Step 2
    Double click "System" and click the "System Restore" tab. Place a check on "Turn off System Restore." Click "OK" and restart your computer.
    <LI id=jsArticleStep3 itxtvisited="1">Step 3
    Launch your anti-virus protection program and update it to obtain the latest virus and spyware definitions. If you do not have an anti-virus program, download AVG free and install it on your computer. Launch the program and update it.
    <LI id=jsArticleStep4 itxtvisited="1">Step 4
    Run a full system scan. Delete all detected files.
    <LI id=jsArticleStep5 itxtvisited="1">Step 5
    Click the "Start" button and click "Run." Type "regedit" and press "Enter." This will bring you to the registry window.
    <LI id=jsArticleStep6 itxtvisited="1">Step 6