1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"AF.exe' fix not working

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by helpemsmile, Apr 18, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. helpemsmile

    helpemsmile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    I am getting AF.exe error. I tried running the fix from a previous thread: run rundll32 C:\WINDOWS\System32:keulnlj.dll,Uninstall. But I get 'specified module could not be found error'???

    Any options or ideas?
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,046
    Hiya

    Are you still having this problem? If so, can you run the following scan for me. Also, running a fix that worked for someone else isn't always advised, as each computer is different ;)

    Download OTL to your Desktop


    (Vista or Win 7 => right click and Run As Administrator)

    • Double click on the icon to run it. Make sure all other windows are closed and to let it run uninterrupted.
    • When the window appears, underneath Output at the top change it to Standard Output.
    • At the top, check the box entitled Scan All Users
    • Toward the bottom, check:
      All Users
      LOP Check
      Purity Check
    • Under the Standard Registry box change it to All
      Do not change any settings unless otherwise told to do so.
    • Please copy the text in the code box below and paste it in the Custom Scans/Fixes box in OTL:

      Code:
      DRIVES
      netsvcs
      activex
      msconfig
      drivers32
      %systemroot%\assembly\GAC_32\*.ini
      %systemroot%\assembly\GAC_64\*.ini
      %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Application Data\*.exe
      %APPDATA%\*.
      safebootminimal
      safebootnetwork
      %SYSTEMDRIVE%\*.*
      %PROGRAMFILES%\*.exe
      %LOCALAPPDATA%\*.exe
      %windir%\Installer\*.*
      %windir%\system32\tasks\*.*
      %windir%\system32\tasks\*.* /64
      %systemroot%\Fonts\*.exe
      %systemroot%\*. /mp /s
      /md5start
      pnrpnsp.dll
      nwprovau.dll
      nlaapi.dll
      napinsp.dll
      mswsock.dll
      winrnr.dll
      wshelper.dll
      consrv.dll
      explorer.exe
      winlogon.exe
      regedit.exe
      Userinit.exe
      svchost.exe
      services.exe
      user32.dll
      atapi.sys
      csrss.exe
      PRINTISOLATIONHOST.EXE
      /md5stop
      hklm\software\clients\startmenuinternet|command /rs
      hklm\software\clients\startmenuinternet|command /64 /rs
      %systemroot%\system32\*.dll /lockedfiles
      %systemroot%\Tasks\*.job /lockedfiles
      %systemdrive%\$Recycle.Bin|@;true;true;true /fp
      %systemroot%\system32\drivers\*.sys /lockedfiles
      C:\Windows\assembly\tmp\U\*.* /s
      %Temp%\smtmp\* \s
      %Temp%\smtmp\1\*.*
      %Temp%\smtmp\2\*.*
      %Temp%\smtmp\3\*.*
      %Temp%\smtmp\4\*.*
      dir "%systemdrive%\*" /S /A:L /C
      CREATERESTOREPOINT
      
    • Click the Run Scan button. The scan wont take long.
      A black box will appear, this is part of the custom scan, so don't be alarmed ;)
      IF OTL SAYS 'NOT RESPONDING' DON'T USE THE MOUSE. IT WILL CARRY ON SCANNING AFTER A FEW MINUTES

    • When the scan completes, it will open two notepad windows. OTL.Txt and Extras.Txt. These are saved in the same location as OTL.
    • Please copy (Edit->Select All, Edit->Copy) the contents of these files, one at a time and post them in your topic

    Thanks

    eddie
     
  3. helpemsmile

    helpemsmile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Hey Eddie,
    I ran the ''restore point' option from System Tools menu. It helped a lil but there still problems, advertisements galore. I did just now try what you suggested, downloaded OTL but get


    c:\Users\Damon\Downloads\OTL.exe is not a valid option when I try to run it??
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,046
    Hi

    Are you trying to run straight from the webpage, or is it from the actual download folder? If its the latter, can you try moving it to the Desktop, then running it from there.

    -------------

    If still no joy, can you try this program instead:

    Please download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to your Desktop.

    Note: You need to run the version compatible with your system. If you are not sure which version applies to your system download both of them and try to run them. Only one of them will run on your system, that will be the right version.

    • Right click to run as administrator (XP users click run after receipt of Windows Security Warning - Open File). When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
    • Press Scan button.
    • It will produce a log called FRST.txt in the same directory the tool is run from.
    • Please copy and paste log back here.
    • The first time the tool is run it generates another log (Addition.txt - also located in the same directory as FRST.exe/FRST64.exe). Please also paste that along with the FRST.txt into your reply.

    Thanks

    eddie
     
  5. helpemsmile

    helpemsmile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Man!! I couldn't even reply to you from my desktop. On laptop now, will give this a shot. Much Thanks!!
     
  6. helpemsmile

    helpemsmile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Looks like I'll be able to run the OTL now. I didn't 'run as administrator' the initially
     
  7. helpemsmile

    helpemsmile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Scan completed and I do see the Notepad entries, not exactly sure of what to copy into thread. The document is HUGE, like 10 pages. I see the OTL.Txt info but haven't identified the Extras.Txt. Not sure exactly what part of the OTL.txt so copy, will keep looking for the Extras.txt
     
  8. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,046
    Okay, don't worry about the Extras bit, we can work on that later. If its very big, see if you can upload it as an attachement.

    Click on the Go Advanced button for the uploading options at the bottom of this page (in the picture below ;) ) [/list]

    [​IMG]

    • In there, at the bottom, click on the button Manage Attachments (in the picture below ;) .
    • A window will appear, and then Browse to OTL.txt on your Desktop.
    • Click Upload, and when uploaded click Close this Window
    • Then, in the previous window, click on Submit Reply

    [​IMG]
     
  9. helpemsmile

    helpemsmile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Can't even do that....bout done with that thing!!! I can't even reply, ever time I click on the thread I get these coupon ads, then locks me up, Crazy! I have lost my install cd that came w/ computer but I can order a new one, kinda where I'm at right now.

    I tried to copy the OTL.text to a jump drive to send from my laptop but couldn't get the notepad text to copy over, weird?
     
  10. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,046
    Okay, lets run the following as they will remove some of the infections, and we can carry on from there. Do each one, save the logs they create to the desktop, and then when all complete, copy/paste them here:




    Please download Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware from Here or Here

    • Double Click the downloaded mbam-setup-x.x.x.xxxx.exe to install the application. (x.x.x.xxxx represents the current version number).
    • During installation, make sure uncheck Enable free trial of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Premium, then click Finish. You can always upgrade later ;) :

      [​IMG]
    • If an update is found, it will download and install the latest updates automatically:

      [​IMG]
    • Now select the Settings tab, and check the box next to Scan for rootkits:

      [​IMG]
    • Go back to the Dashboard tab, and click the Scan Now button:

      [​IMG]
    • The scan may take some time to finish,so please be patient.

      [​IMG]
    • When the scan is complete, it will show you the results. (This one is clean):

      [​IMG]
    • Make sure that everything is checked, and click Quarantine All (or similar).
    • When disinfection is completed, a log will open in Notepad and you may be prompted to Restart. (See Extra Note below) If the log doesn't open, select View detailed log in the Scan tab:

      [​IMG]
    • The log is automatically saved by MBAM and can be viewed by going to the History tab and clicking on Application Logs:

      [​IMG]
    • Choose the latest Scan Log, and click on the View button:

      [​IMG]
    • In the bottom of the Scanning History Log window that opens, you can click on Export > Save to Text file (*.txt). Save the report to your Desktop.

      [​IMG]
    • Copy & Paste the entire contents of the report log in your next reply.

    Extra Note: If MBAM encounters a file that is difficult to remove, you will be presented with 1 of 2 prompts, click OK to either and let MBAM proceed with the disinfection process, if asked to restart the computer, please do so immediately.

    *** In your next reply, I need you to Copy&Paste the contents of the MBAM log file.

    --------------------------



    Download and scan with SUPERAntiSpyware Free Edition for Home Users
    • Double-click SUPERAntiSpyware.exe and use the default settings for installation.
    • An icon will be created on your desktop. Double-click that icon to launch the program.
    • If asked to update the program definitions, click "Yes". If not, update the definitions before scanning by selecting "Check for Updates". (If you encounter any problems while downloading the updates, manually download and unzip them from here.)
    • Under "Configuration and Preferences", click the Preferences button.
    • Click the Scanning Control tab.
    • Under Scanner Options make sure the following are checked (leave all others unchecked):
      • Close browsers before scanning.
      • Scan for tracking cookies.
      • Terminate memory threats before quarantining.
    • Click the "Home" button to leave the control center screen.
    • On the right, under "Complete Scan", choose Perform Complete Scan.
    • Click Scan your computer.
    • On the left, select all fixed drives.
    • Click "Start Complete Scan" to start the scan. Please be patient while it scans your computer.
    • After the scan is complete, a Scan Summary box will appear with potentially harmful items that were detected. Click "Continue".
    • Make sure everything has a checkmark next to it and click "Next".
    • A notification will appear that "Quarantine and Removal is Complete". Click "Remove Threats" and then click the "Finish" button to return to the main menu.
    • If asked if you want to reboot, click "Yes".
    • To retrieve the removal information after reboot, launch SUPERAntispyware again.
      • Click View Scan Logs.
        [*]Under Scanner Logs, double-click SUPERAntiSpyware Scan Log.
        [*]If there are several logs, click the current dated log and press View log. A text file will open in your default text editor.
        [*]Please copy and paste the Scan Log results in your next reply.
      [*]Click Close to exit the program.




    --------------------------



    Go here, to download and save AdwCleaner.exe to your desktop.

    [​IMG]

    Just click on the Download Now @BleepingComputer

    Note: It looks like a gray bug with 6 black legs.

    Close all open windows first, then double-click AdwCleaner.exe to load its main window.

    Click the Scan button, then click "OK".

    Allow the scan process to finish.

    If it appears to freeze, be patient for a few minutes.

    When it's finished, click on the [bClean[/b] button.

    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE log here



    ---------------

    eddie
     
  11. helpemsmile

    helpemsmile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Even having problems downloading this. Something called 'ReimageRepair.exe' is wanting to load, don't think that is it, right?
     
  12. helpemsmile

    helpemsmile Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Finally was able to download 'mbam-setup-majorgeeks -2.1.6.1022.exe' but get setup files are corrupted. Please obtain a new copy of program??!! Logged into Safe Mode, and same thing happens.
     
  13. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,046
    You're correct, ReimageRepair is not want you want to install :(

    Okay, can you try the following instead. Looks like the exe files may be corrupt somehow.

    This program will reset your file associations back to Windows defaults.

    Please download one of the following to your desktop. If the first one doesn't work, try the next and so on.
    FixExec.com
    FixExec.pif
    FixExec.scr

    Double click the FixExec icon to run the tool.

    When FixExec has finished running it will create a log on your Windows desktop called FixExec.txt. This log will contain a list of the items that were repaired on your computer. Please post that log in your next reply.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1146818

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice