After 20 minutes playing a game game stutters and computer get very very SLOOOOW

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Heineken

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
9
Hi, I am new on this forum and I hope someone can help me out.

Every time I play a game at start it runs great.. then after 15-20 minutes everything gets slower and slower, I mean really slow. Movement and sounds are going slower and slower when time progresses. I have updated my sound drivers, updated my DirectX. It's like something eats up my ram or my soundcard is causing it. And when everything gets slow I quit the game and windows is then also very very slow. And sometimes my soundcard crashes, giving a loud beep sound. It's driving me NUTS.

Got an amd athlon 1,2 ghz, 512 ram, 40gigUDMA HD, MSI K7T motherboard, asus 7100pro geforce 2 32mb ram videocard, Creative SB Live! value soundcard running on windows ME (updated version installed over w98SE).
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Stop all other applications running in the Windoze background before running the game and see if that helps. Could be heat related as well...crack open the case and ensure all the fans are running correctly...even the power supply fan. If it is only in games, I would suspect the video card is overheating.
 

Heineken

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
9
Originally posted by Rockn
Stop all other applications running in the Windoze background before running the game and see if that helps. Could be heat related as well...crack open the case and ensure all the fans are running correctly...even the power supply fan. If it is only in games, I would suspect the video card is overheating.
Yea i think you are right about the videocard.. somehow its overheating. Thx for the tip.
 

Heineken

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
9
Well now i dont think it's my videocard.. it just must have something to do with my sound/card. Even when i only listen to a mp3 song, everything gets slower and slower! even typing or moving my mouse cursor! ahhhhhhhhhh Or somehow my memory gets eaten up.


BAD **** *** PC i got. :) sorry for bad words but i am just mad.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,310
Hiya

As you say it might be something eating your resources, lets have a look at them first.

Start | programs | Accesories | System Tools | System Information

On the left click Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list.

Regards

eddie
 

Heineken

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
9
Hi Eddy,

Look below for my system info.
Well i found out what was causing all this BS. A virus, called: w32.weird virus. I ran norton antivirus and it made it even worser, now almost all my files seems infected! The only thing i can do now is FORMAT: C!!!! :(

I am sick with windows... gonna order a new mac this week, a Quicksilver with os X.... No more windows for me (at home that is)

No more virus, maintaining every day... i want 2 work with my OS and have fun with it.. i cant have it with windows. :( Bought this wintel box mainly for games. I want to smile when i am using the computer.

Soon only a smiling face :)





Naam van besturingssysteem Microsoft Windows
Versie 4.90.3000 Build 3000
Fabrikant van besturingssysteem Microsoft Corporation
Computernaam CC130414-A
Computerfabrikant MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
Computermodel MS-6330
Computertype X86-based PC
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) Processor AuthenticAMD ~1195 Mhz
BIOS-versie Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Windows-map C:\WINDOWS
Landinstellingen Netherlands
Tijdzone West-Europa (standaardtijd)
Totaal fysiek geheugen 511,44 MB
Beschikbaar fysiek geheugen 284,43 MB
Totaal virtueel geheugen 2,00 GB
Beschikbaar virtueel geheugen 1,68 GB
Ruimte voor wisselbestand 1,50 GB
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,310
Hiya

You say you have w32.weird. Have a look at this:

http://www.sarc.com/avcenter/cgi-bin/virauto.cgi?vid=9786

Thats if you haven't formated already.

Just realised, you're from Holland so I will have to get the online Translator working now :D

Hang on, this isn't your Startup Programs. This is your System Summary. Go back to System Information and navigate to Software Enviroment. Expand by pressing the + then click Startup Programs. This is what we want.

Regards

eddie
 

Heineken

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
9
Havent formatted it yet..
so here you go:


*StateMgr c:\windows\system\restore\statemgr.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
anvshell anvshell.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
ASUS SmartDoctor c:\program files\asus\smartdoctor\vgaprobe.exe firsttime .DEFAULT HKU\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
BySoft FreeRAM c:\program files\bysoft\freeram\freeram.exe .DEFAULT HKU\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
CTAVTray c:\program files\creative\sblive\program\ctavtray.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Devldr16 c:\windows\system\devldr16.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
LoadPowerProfile rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,loadcurrentpwrscheme All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
LoadPowerProfile rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,loadcurrentpwrscheme All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
NAV DefAlert c:\progra~1\norton~1\defalert.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
New.net Startup rundll32 c:\windows\newdot~1.dll,newdotnetstartup All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
NOMAD Detector "c:\program files\creative\playcenter2\ctnmrun.exe" .DEFAULT HKU\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Norton Auto-Protect c:\progra~1\norton~1\navapw32.exe /loadquiet All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Norton eMail Protect c:\program files\norton antivirus\poproxy.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
PCHealth c:\windows\pchealth\support\pchschd.exe -s All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
SAITEKAUTOCONFIGURE c:\program files\saitek\saitek gaming extensions\saicnfig.exe /autorun All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
ScanRegistry c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
SchedulingAgent mstask.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
ScriptBlocking "c:\program files\common files\symantec shared\script blocking\sbserv.exe" -reg All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
SystemTray systray.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Taakcontrole c:\windows\taskmon.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
TaskMonitor c:\windows\taskmon.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
webHancer Agent "c:\program files\webhancer\programs\whagent.exe" All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run


Sorry for such a mess! i just did copied and pasted it.. oh well it aint in dutch :)
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Don't kid yourself into thinking that Mac's cannot be infected with a virus
 
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
1,199
Thanks for pointing that out AlwaysLearning,guess am going to have to try the links after i post.:D
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,310
Hiya

I won't be on later tonight so I thought I'd check during my dinner.

Okay, lets have a look here:

*StateMgr: WinME. Windows default for System Restore. Do NOT disable

anvshell: System Tray tool for ASUS video cards. If disabled you lose all the ASUS specific video card options. Don't disable.

ASUS SmartDoctor: Your ASUS video card. Don't disable

BySoft FreeRAM: keeps your machine ticking over. May not need. From here: http://www.bysoft.com/freeram.html

CTAVTray: For Creative Soundblaster Live! series soundcards. Plays the EAX animation on start-up and adds a System Tray icon for it. Available via AudioHQ - not required

Devldr16: Associated with Creative Labs sound cards. Provides audio support for DOS applications. Not needed if you don't have those

LoadPowerProfile: Power management specifics such as monitor shut-off, system standby, etc. Keep

NAV DefAlert: Virus checker. Keep

New.net: spyware, though beach has already mentioned it. Go to www.lavasoftusa.com and download AddAware. Install and run it, ensuring that deep registry scan is enabled. Delete all except any references to Web3000. Post the list if you're unsure.

NOMAD Detector: Well, NOMAD Check is part of Intel's Native Audio and is not required. As for Detector, I don't know if its the same thing. You may have to doublecheck this one.

Norton Auto-Protect: AntiVirus

Norton eMail Protect: Antivirus

PCHealth: WinME. This is a "scheduler" and does not turn off PC Health. Maybe

SAITEKAUTOCONFIGURE: dunno, but its all here:http://saitekhelp.simhq.com/auto_configuration_featur.htm

ScanRegistry: Scans your registry. Keep.

SchedulingAgent: Microsoft Scheduling Agent displayed as a box with a stopwatch in the System Tray - only needed if you have regular scheduled disk defragmenting, ScanDisk, etc. Recommend you run these at regular intervals anyway so not needed as they can interrupt other programs

ScriptBlocking: Update to Norton AntiVirus 2001. Detects certain types of script-based viruses without the need for specific virus definitions - such as JavaScript and VBScript. This will help protect you from these viruses even before virus definitions are available. Keep

SystemTray: where your clock is.

Taakcontrole: Dunno, but from a search, its maybe in Dutch?

TaskMonitor: The Task Monitor the disk-access patterns of programs when they are started and stores this information in log files in the Applog folder. Task Monitor also records the number of times you use a program. The Disk Defragmenter tool uses this information to optimize your hard disk so that programs that you use frequently are loaded faster. Not required - but can be useful

webHancer: Spyware

Okay. Go to Run and type MSCONFIG. I don't know fully if you can do this on ME, as all my bookmarks are at home. Anyway, if you can, go to the Startup Tab and uncheck the ones that you don't need. Apply and Restart. If you are unsure about any of those, you can do one at a time, but you will have to restart each time.


Regards

eddie
 

Heineken

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
9
Originally posted by Rockn
Don't kid yourself into thinking that Mac's cannot be infected with a virus
I know mac's got a few, but the change of getting infected is almost 0%. And no spyware programs!


Thanks all for the help.. this weekend i gonna format my HD and i gonna put windows2000pro on it and 10 virus scanners, err joke :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top