1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

After formatting C drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bluebell, Jan 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bluebell

bluebell Thread Starter

After formatting, as the computer is loading with the bootdisk the following appears...

Bad or missing C:\Windows\HIMEM.SYS error in Config.sys line 3

Bad or missing C:|Windows\IFSHLP.SYS error in Config.sys line4

A:\>C|Windows|Smartdrv.exe/X

How do I correct this? Please help, for I'm new to this and apparently not doing to well.

Thanks!

2. JSanguancheu

JSanguancheu

Are you using a floppy bootdisk?
    The lines in your config.sys file are trying to load up files from the C: drive instead of from the A:

I could go into how to edit the files but it would probably be easier just to point you to a place to make a new bootdisk. :)

Like here: http://www.bootdisk.com/original.htm

Use the Windows 98 SE OEM version. It will ask you to insert a floppy and then create the disk for you.

Copy Smartdrv.exe from your current disk to the new one and make sure you run it before trying to install Windows 2000/Me/XP.

A:\Smartdrv <enter>

3. bluebell

bluebell Thread Starter

Thank you for the help. I downloaded the bootdisk you suggested and now......this

Bad or missing HIMEM.SYS line 21
    Bad or missing RAMDRIVE.sys line 31

Warning-high memory not available. Additional low memory will be used instead.

Bad command or file name
    Path not found-:\Command.com
    File not found-extract.exe
    File not found-readme.txt

Please insert Windows 98 Startup Disk 2 (I don't have this?)

Help! I'm lost. :)

4. JSanguancheu

JSanguancheu

Hi bluebell,

Just downloaded the win 98 SE OEM version and tried it out myself. Works just fine.