Aftermath of downgrade...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Mithost

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
39
I just downgraded from an infected vista to XP pro, and I have had a few problems. Some I fixed, some I have no idea what is wrong.

Problem 1: Modem driver was not installed like it was before. I fixed it so I could get internet by using the disc that came with the modem.

Problem 2: No sound driver was installed, so I got one from the internet, confirming it was the right one for my computer (got it off the manufacturer's website)

Problem 3: Game applications lagging badly (movable items being skippy or just not working), no fix yet.

Problem 4: Toolbar images low quality, like if i were to expand them on paint then shrink them back down.

Overall performance is not too bad otherwise, I just feel something is WAY off.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Howdy,

What make and model is the PC ..laptop or desktop?

What did the PC come with and did you get any discs with it?
 

Mithost

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
39
Acer Desktop, Athlon 64 Processor, no CD other than the one for the modem.

I have the reinstallation CD's for my older eMachines (came with XP home) but I don't want to try those looking at the warning saying only to use them on eMachine products.

Problem 3 is temporaily fixed if you restart the computer. If you restart the game however, the problem has around 50% chance of returning.
 

Mithost

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
39
Its an aspire AM1100 Acer desktop, a few years old.

My friend came over and used his disc. he put it in before the white ACER screen, then pressed a button repeatedly to start the installation.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
You need to get your own Operating System as using your friends is not the way to go.
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
for those that dont know acer bought gateway and emachine computers.but yes u will have to get the proper disks for your computer. u might also check and see if there is any xp drivers for that computer. if not u will have a very hard time finding them. hope this helps u.
 

Mithost

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
39
My computer did NOT come with CD's. Im kinda pissed that it didn't. I don't know how im going to get my own OS CD as I am 15 with no job and my parents wont put any money into a computer as they do not understand that computers are not cheap.
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
since u are only 15 your parents will have to contact acer and hopefully get a set of restore or recovery disks for that model of computer. if it didnt come with xp to begin with and theres no xp driver for it u might be out of luck . more than likely acer will just send u disks of what was originally in the computer. if by some chance u find xp drivers u will have to buy a copy of windows xp pro or home and they are getting very hard to find and not cheap either.hope this helps u.
 

Mithost

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
39
Wow, I am kind of shocked you figured that out down to the X1200 part. Im going to update my drivers now.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top