1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Age of Empires 2 age of kings install

Discussion in 'Games' started by Dr.Kool, Feb 6, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dr.Kool

    Dr.Kool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    when i try to install Age of Empires 2 age of kings, it works until it tries to write to the file, "graphics.drs". graphics.drs goes from 8% complete and still going when it gets to 35% complete, but when it gets to 35% complete, it stops for a while then brings up the error message, "unable to write to the file "graphics.drs" please make sure you have enough hard disk space and that the file is not in use.
    i dont think it is in use as i never opened it, just put in the disk and tried to install, i have 2.3 gigs left on my hard disk. and it only requires 126 megabites.
    help me please anyone!
    cheers.
    someoneverycool.
     
  2. rosyna

    rosyna

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    have you tried installing the games on any other computer to see if the Game installer is not having any problems.
     
  3. Dr.Kool

    Dr.Kool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    good idea, but yes it does work on other comps. :(
     
  4. Lil Davie

    Lil Davie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    I had this problem as well, is the disk scratched and what OS are you using? Also what version of AoK are you installing?
     
  5. Dr.Kool

    Dr.Kool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    how do i know what version im installing and i got windows xp if thats what u mean, ( home edition ) hmmm the cd is kinda scratched, thats probably the problem,
     
  6. Lil Davie

    Lil Davie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    unfortunatly I believe that is your problem. luckly it's not too much to get another these days. sorry we couldn't be of more help
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,499
    First Name:
    James
    If it works in another machine then I don't think it's the CD. Maybe try a cleaner for the CD drive to see i that works for you.
     
  8. tirpitz

    tirpitz

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    guess what? same thing with JK academy
     
  9. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,499
    First Name:
    James
    Ethier your CD drive needs cleaning or replaced.

    A CD-ROM drive is not expensive (about $10, $20 for CD-RW) if you need to replace it.
     
  10. Dr.Kool

    Dr.Kool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    dont think its the cd drive caz otha cds work
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,499
    First Name:
    James
    did you try a cleaner?
     
  12. weaponx23

    weaponx23

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    same thing happened to me and i had to buy another copy, its a conspiracy..........joke
     
  13. Dr.Kool

    Dr.Kool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    how badly scratched duz it need to be to cause problems?
     
  14. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,499
    First Name:
    James
    surface scratches are fine, it's the deep ones you need to worry about.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/327292

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice