1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Age Of Empire's II Conquerors Expansion Disc reading problem

Discussion in 'Games' started by ibetyouluvthis, Jun 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ibetyouluvthis

    ibetyouluvthis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    Hello!
    Just recently, and unlike previous times, my age of empire II conqueros expansion disc does not start up anymore on my computer. I get an error msg that states something like " instert proper disk or cannot read disc" (or something the like). my age of empire II (non - expansion) works on both XP computers, but the comqueros expansion works on only my other XP compture and not this one. Thus, I'm writing this msg.
    I went to the microsoft games support page and braved through a list of solutions, but still no luck.
    If you have any other solutions let me know
    P.S. I just installed Kasperky Internet Security 6.0 and im wondering if that is causing the problem, but i disabled it and my game still wont start.
    THank you!
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,243
    First Name:
    James
    Does any other game discs have the same problem?
     
  3. ibetyouluvthis

    ibetyouluvthis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    Hello!
    Thanks for posting!:)
    Other game disks do not have the same problem. Even, the non expansion Age of Empire disk works correctly. To make things even wierdier, the game disk that doesent work on my computer works on my brothers computer!
    help me out here!:confused: :confused:
     
  4. ibetyouluvthis

    ibetyouluvthis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    Okay on the microsoft solution page for soliving the "disc read error" I'm on method 3"

    Method 3: Install updates for SafeDisc
    To see whether you need these updates installed, follow these steps: 1. Insert your game play disc.
    2. Click Start, click Run, type cmd, and then click OK.
    3. Type your CD letter and a colon, and then press ENTER.
    For example, on most computers, the CD drive letter will be D. Therefore, you will type D:, and then press ENTER.
    4. Type dir /a:h, and then press ENTER.


    Now, after i enter dir /a:h i get the following response:

    Volume in drive D is AGE_X1
    Volume Serial Number is 3311-D19C

    Directory of D:\

    File Not Found

    So,...what does it mean by File Not Found? IS that part of the problem?
     
  5. ibetyouluvthis

    ibetyouluvthis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    Okay Fu Ckn Great!!! I thing i found out what the dam problem is!
    The expansion disk used to work on my brother's computer but now it doesnt...
    Ever since i dled the flippen KASPErskey Internet secureity or whatever on his computer now it doesn't want to flippen play the CD wierd!!!
    But, still how do i fix it....I wanna play my game!
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,243
    First Name:
    James
    It's a new one for me. I don't use Kasperskey so I won't know how to help you.

    As for the dir /a:h, it should show you your hidden files. I would assume from your file not found, there are no hidden files.
     
  7. ibetyouluvthis

    ibetyouluvthis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    o. okay so it wasnt' that then.
    well i uninstalled kasperkey and it i was able to play my game.
    i guess kasperkey was too nervous and woulnd't let me play!

    Thanks:)
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,243
    First Name:
    James
    No problem (y)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/583757

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice