1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Aging Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jimmy A, Feb 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jimmy A

Jimmy A Thread Starter

Our shinny new Dell Dimension 8250 (Jan 2003) is 4 years old now. It has a 120 Gig hard drive which has always worked well. It's a Seagate ST3120023A. I'm wondering how long it will last. Could it go on another 4 or 5 years, or will it do well to last through the rest of this year? Can anyone tell me what I might expect here?

2. steigrafx

steigrafx

There's really no way to tell. I'm a network admin with hundreds of PC's and have had brandnew drives fail in a day or two, and I've had drives that have lasted for more years than they had a right to.

3. Jimmy A

Jimmy A Thread Starter

Thank you. Maybe I should get one of those external hard drives and cloning software, if I can figure out how to use it, and be ready like a good Boy Scout.

4. Noyb

Noyb Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Jay
    That would be a fantastic idea .... get Acronis True Image.

I would also suggest an External HD Enclosure .. and put a new HD in it.
    Then you also have the ability to change (swap) the HD in it ... or use it to read a HD that won't boot.

Watching for Sales on HDs ... this is usually cheaper than one that comes assembled.

5. paulmo_on_tour

paulmo_on_tour

Noyb,

I COMPLETELY AGREE!!!! LOL, just had the issue of losing several months (yes I know back up...as well as don't drink so much Coke...) of data when my HDD in my Alienware laptop took a nose dive and just died!