1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

AGP 2.0 Video Card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by FZWG, Jan 31, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. FZWG

    FZWG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Was given an AGP video card (NVidia) which mentions an AGP 2.0 system requirement on the box.

    Mainboard (GA-6VA7+) has 1 AGP slot supporting 66/133 MHz speeds.

    Installed the card, and it seems to work OK, but not sure whether it was wise to install it on this mainboard. Don't want to damage either.

    Appreciate knowing whether it is OK to run this type of card on the AGP slot.

    Is there a way of finding out whether the AGP slot is 1.0 or 2.0?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. Nothingface

    Nothingface

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    295
    The website doesn't say. But worry not, if it works, there should be no problem. If it was an Agp 1.0 slot, most likely the card wouldn't work with your system.
     
  3. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    According to your motherboard's manual and according to Via's specs on the chipset, your motherboard has an AGP 1.0 3volt 2X slot. 66mhz-1X, 133mhz-2X

    Even though your Nvidia Graphics Card requires an AGP 2.0 1.5Volt 4X-533mhz slot, it should work in any AGP 1.0 slot at 2X, just not at full speed.

    However, I believe most AGP 2.0 4X 1.5v video cards will work in a 2X slot, except the GeForce 4 series.

    Ati's Radeon series of 4X cards should work in an agp 1.0 slot also just not as full speed.

    I believe most of the 8X cards won't work at all in an agp 1.0 slot.

    there has been confirmation that a Geforce 3 and a ATI 9500 will work in BX boards, which generally have agp 1.0 slots

    but if it works, then I would be happy. Even if it isn't working at full speed.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Interesting point about the Gforce 4 cards, what do they do if you drop them into a AGP 1.0 slot? Smoke, flame, or just not work? :)
     
  5. FZWG

    FZWG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Thanks for the info.

    The card in question is a GeForce 2 MX200.

    Based on Shadow2531's explanation, it is running at 2x 133MHz vs full capacity.

    Guess that will not do it any harm; just sort of an overkill for the mainboard.

    Thanks again.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/116221

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice