Agp 4x

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Fropez87

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
3
I have an agp 4x slot in my computer ( Dell Dimension 4500 ). The other day the video card that came with it starting making noise ( geforce ti 4200 ). Within a few minutes the display on my computer was not appearing. I opened up the computer and removed the graphics card thinking that the card blew out, since I've had it for about 4 years. I have no onboard video, so I had to order a new card ( Radeon 9600). I just got the new card, inserted into the agp slot and there is still a black screen. I know it's not the monitor because I hooked a laptop up to it yesterday. Is it possible that my agp slot is busted? Is there a way to tell? Does anyone have any advice on what I should do? Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
303
Not sure If this might be the same situaton, But when I bought a ATI 9600 all-in-wonder,I installed it in my pc and nothing but a black screen. Even the spec on the card said it would work with agp4x but it doesnt seem to. Once I upgraded my mobo to one with a agp 8x it work great .What you can do is try installing a video card that is known to be good. See what happenes. Have you tried using the most current drivers that ATI offers? If you dont have a agp card that is known to be good you can get them at newegg.com for as low as $20.00.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
17
sometimes the power supply can't handle the new card try unplugging a second drive or fan and try again
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
533
Since you switched brands of graphics cards, from nVidia to ATI, you will have to download th e ATI video drivers . . .

www.ati.com
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
2,113
Smety said:
Since you switched brands of graphics cards, from nVidia to ATI, you will have to download th e ATI video drivers . . .

www.ati.com
If we read the original post the guy has no display! How can he update the video drivers without display?

I have a question. Turn on your speakers and boot the system. Do you get the intro music when windows boots up? If so it does indeed appear that you might have a bad agp slot there.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2004
Messages
296
I had it happen once that the mobo set VGA to PCI instead of AGP for primary display and had the same problem, I just had to use an old PCI VGA card to set it back to AGP.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top