1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

AGP 8x card only running at 4x. Why???

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ekafrawy, Jul 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ekafrawy

    ekafrawy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    I have new Nvidia 7800gs or 7600gs i can't remember but the box says AGP 4x/8x. My mother board is an Asus p4s8x which is AGP 8x capable. After i installed the card, and i go into the Nvidia video card prederences it says agp 4x. Why doesn't it read 8x, and how to get it to run at 8x.

    In the Bios the agp port is set to 8x.
     
  2. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Not sure if there are any but I would check at the ASUS site and see if there are any updated chipset drivers for your board. If there are uninstall the card, install the chipset drivers and reinstall the card. Also get the latest drivers for the card from NVidia.
     
  3. pugmug

    pugmug Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,857
    You have the box and don't know what vid card you have?
     
  4. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,951
    Check the bios and make sure you have 8X enabled. That is just my wild guess. ;)
     
  5. pugmug

    pugmug Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,857
    I think they stated that.
     
  6. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,951
    Yep, that is what I get for "scanning".
     
  7. pugmug

    pugmug Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,857
    Lol, Skivvy how are you doing?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/483137

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice