AGP speed problem?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

FLLJRII

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
37
I am having a problem with display on my desktop flickering. Loaded and reloaded drivers, etc. Used Everest Home edition to diagnosis. Here is my problem with the specs. How do I go about fixing the problem below?

[ North Bridge: AMD-751 ]

North Bridge Properties:
North Bridge AMD-751
Supported FSB Speeds FSB200
Supported Memory Types PC100 SDRAM
Revision / Stepping 25 / C5
Package Type 492 Pin PBGA
Package Size 3.5 cm x 3.5 cm
Core Voltage 3.3 V

Memory Timings:
CAS Latency (CL) 3T
RAS To CAS Delay (tRCD) 3T
RAS Precharge (tRP) 3T
RAS Active Time (tRAS) 5T
Row Cycle Time (tRC) 10T
Refresh Period (tREF) 15.36 us
Page Hit Limit 32
Idle Cycle Limit 8

Error Correction:
ECC Supported, Disabled
ChipKill ECC Not Supported
RAID Not Supported
ECC Scrubbing Not Supported

Memory Slots:
DRAM Slot #1 64 MB (PC100 SDRAM)
DRAM Slot #2 64 MB (PC100 SDRAM)
DRAM Slot #3 32 MB (PC100 SDRAM)

AGP Controller:
AGP Version 1.00
AGP Status Enabled
AGP Device PowerColor Radeon 9250
AGP Aperture Size 64 MB
Supported AGP Speeds 1x, 2x
Current AGP Speed 1x
Fast-Write Not Supported
Side Band Addressing Supported, Enabled

Chipset Manufacturer:
Company Name Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Product Information http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/DevelopWithAMD/0,,30_2252_873,00.html
Driver Download http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/0,,30_182_871_2336,00.html
Driver Update http://driveragent.com?ref=59

Problems & Suggestions:
Problem Current AGP speed is lower than maximum supported. This may cause performance penalty.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Just some thoughts. Your MB has 1x/2x AGP support and seems to be running at 1x. Your video card is 4x/8x. Was the video not flickering at one point or did it always do it?
 

FLLJRII

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
37
The problem occured prior to installing the new video card, however, the monitor would not show anything. Therefore, I replaced the card and it started working, but started flickering, pausing and showing various colors. I would shut it down and it would work, however, when playing a video, DVD or game it would freeze now and then.
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
You'll need a different video card, an older one that supports AGP 1.0 and AGP 1/2X speeds. AGP 1/2X uses 3.3 volts, AGP 4X card use 1.5 volts, AGP 8X cards use 0.8 volts.
 

FLLJRII

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
37
Any suggestions as to which video card I should get? Also, would increasing the RAM memory help.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
2,113
If you are using Catylyst Control Center then open it and click on 'smartgart'. Try and set it to 2X(you will need to reboot). See if that helps.

If you are using the Catylyst control panel version then you right click on the desktop. Click 'properties' ->'settings' ->'advanced' and click on the smartgart tab and change it to 2X.

If this causes stability problems you can boot into safe mode and switch it back.
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Hmm, looking at Newegg.com they have a Visiontek Radeon 9250 that supports 3.3 Volts. So maybe I'm wrong, I though they were only 1.5 volt cards. Can you post the exact make and model of the card?

FYI: Changing the AGP to 2X or whatever doesn't change the voltage, just the bus speed.

AGP drivers can be downloaded from here:http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/0,,30_182_871_2336,00.html

Latest ATI drivers from here: https://support.ati.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=894&task=knowledge&folderID=27
 

FLLJRII

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
37
already downloaded the drivers for AGP. Have the latest drivers from ATI, will change the setting in the Cat settings. However, I am at a lost. Is the suggestion to get another video card or change the setting?

Here are the video specs:

Windows Video

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


[ RADEON 9250 - Secondary ]

Video Adapter Properties:
Device Description RADEON 9250 - Secondary
Adapter String RADEON 9250
BIOS String BK-ATI VER008.017D.016.000
Chip Type RADEON 9200 Series AGP (0x5960)
DAC Type Internal DAC(500MHz)
Installed Drivers ati2dvag (6.14.10.6476 - ATI Catalyst 4.9)
Memory Size 128 MB

Video Adapter Manufacturer:
Company Name ATI Technologies Inc.
Product Information http://www.ati.com/products/gamer.html
Driver Download http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html
Driver Update http://driveragent.com?ref=59

[ RADEON 9250 ]

Video Adapter Properties:
Device Description RADEON 9250
Adapter String RADEON 9250
BIOS String BK-ATI VER008.017D.016.000
Chip Type RADEON 9200 Series AGP (0x5960)
DAC Type Internal DAC(500MHz)
Installed Drivers ati2dvag (6.14.10.6476 - ATI Catalyst 4.9)
Memory Size 128 MB

Video Adapter Manufacturer:
Company Name ATI Technologies Inc.
Product Information http://www.ati.com/products/gamer.html
Driver Download http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html
Driver Update http://driveragent.com?ref=59


PCI / AGP Video

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Device Description Device Type
ATI Radeon 9250 (RV280) Video Adapter
ATI Radeon 9250 (RV280) 3D Accelerator
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
You may need a new(older) video card, but that depends on your Radeon 9250. Who made your card? It may actually support 3.3Volt slots, but it may not. If it doesn't then you'll need another card, something like an older GeForce2/3/4.

By the way, your video drivers appear to be version 4.9; thats old. Those would be from September 2004. The latest are 5.13 from December 2005(second release in Decemeber). ATI releases a driver each and every month(or more). First number indicates year, second number indicates month. ATI also releases an additonal driver at the year end as a bonus so thats why its 13 and not 12.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
355
youre pc is so old, it might just be components on the motherboard starting to lose it?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top