AGP Video Card

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MintabiePete

Thread Starter
Joined
May 7, 2002
Messages
113
Just a question , if I have a motherboard with a AGP slot for a video card and I hav'nt got one , can I use a PCI Video Card until I do get one to get my display on the monitor ?

Thanks

:)
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
5,531
You should be able to use a PCI Card - perhaps depending on your motherboard you might even be able to use onboard graphics as a last resort.

What motherboard do you have ?
 

MintabiePete

Thread Starter
Joined
May 7, 2002
Messages
113
thanks RSM123 for your quick response , very much appreciated . This motherboard is a gigabyte GA7ZX(5.0) that I am trying to set up with an AMD Athlon 900 processor .
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
5,531
Sorry for the delayed reply - even us 'POMs' need some sleep :p

http://www.thetriplehelix.com/sections.php?op=viewarticle&artid=30

Just myself read a review on your stated mobo to see what it offers - it seems pretty good. Like you I don't rush out and buy the latest everything just for the sake of having it.

As regards PCI Graphics I believe it would be fine to go this route - in fact I would say only upgrade to AGP if you become an enthusiastic gamer or see a great bargain.

Just posted these links for another member :

http://www.tomshardware.com Benchmarks / Reviews

http://www.overclockers.com

http://www.sharkyextreme.com

http://www.techimo.com

These last have FAQs, Tweaks, and Forums - for user feedback that are worth reading periodically so you can keep tabs on whats happening in hardware development.
---------------------------------------

You might consider starting a Home & Away and Neighbours thread in Random Discussion so we can keep tabs on developments in that field also .....

:D

Anyway nice to hear back keep posting if you want more info.


Richard. RSM.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2003
Messages
32
Get an AGP card anyway, you''ll pay for a PCI card, just like and AGP card. Trust me - you'll not regret it. No reason to spend $50.00 on a PCI card when you can slo get and AGP card for the same. FOr the low end $30.00-65.00 will get you an NVIDA force 4 MX440. Or you can move up for about $100.00 for a TI4200 (much better quality and would be a nice fit for your mobo and processor).
 

MintabiePete

Thread Starter
Joined
May 7, 2002
Messages
113
Thanks RSM123 and Rox Shox , for your thoughts and information , I most likely will get an AGP card as I do know they are a lot cheaper compared to a PCI one but at the moment I was just a bit unsure whether you could set a PCI card up to work as a standby.

Here in OZ I can get probably a 32 mb AGP card for the right price but i seemed to read that there are other settings that I have to watch with the type of AGP card that it will work on my system.

At the moment this computer I am playing around with at the moment has has a AMD450mhz with 256mgRAM it has an old Octek Rhino socket 7 M/B and I have winXP/win98SE/RedHatLinux8.0 on it and it really flies , but I have never played around with a socket A M/B before so I want to get this Gigabyye setup with the Athlon 900mhz working right.

And thanks to people like yourselves I am in with a chance , so thanks .:D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top