AGP vs 4xAGP

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bbsan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2000
Messages
113
I've finally begun building my 'real' computer - glad to be rid of the Frankenstein thing I'm currently using. You may recall the MoBo is warped.

Anyway, on to my new computer:

I went to seat the video card and the slot sits too far back for my AGP card. MoBo manual says I need a 4xAGP card.

Aside from the physical shape, clearly the 4x is longer, what are the other differences between AGP and 4xAGP?

Yes, I could put an old card in a PCI slot, but I don't want to.


Intel 845E Chipset
2.80Ghz
4x AGP slot
ATX (you knew that)

Thanks, kids. As always, I pay in chocolate.

bb
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
9
AGP2x offers 533 MB/s, by transferring data at the rising as well as the falling edge of the clock. The new addition called AGP4x doubles this bandwidth another time to 1066 MB/s.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,958
The voltages are also different. It won't work. New boards have a 1.5v slot, and the old ones were 3.3v.
If the card doesn't line up with the board installed, consider it a red flag.
 

bbsan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2000
Messages
113
Thanks, kids. If you think of anything else, let me know.

Right, if the card doesn't line up, it won't fit anyway, so there's no mistake there. I love these idiot proof gadgets, just wish I'd read up on the diffrences in cards, B4 I bought the thing.

Any other surprises I need to know about? I read in another thread that I might have to reinstall XP. That pains me.
 

bbsan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2000
Messages
113
Okay, I'm studying TigerDirect for a new card.

All the AGP cards are 3 slotted. Has the AGP card evolved that much? Can I assume the 3 slotted AGP is now standard?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,958
Yes, pretty much. They have universal slots. If you look where the card snaps in, you will most likely have only 1 divider but the cards are made to be backwards compatable.
 

bbsan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2000
Messages
113
Ah. Okay.

Problem is, the old card is about a half inch too short for the board, if I managed to seat it, the bracket sits about half an inch INSIDE the board. It almost looks like the socket is backwards.

Oh well, for all this trouble, I should just buy a new card.

Thanks!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top