1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

AIM 6.5 Upgrade causes media to no longer play on versions of Vista DO NOT UPGRADE

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by juddx039, Oct 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. juddx039

    juddx039 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    AIM 6.5 Upgrade causes media to no longer play on versions of Vista DO NOT UPGRADE...the cause of media no longer playing on Windows Media Player and iTunes and all other media players was linked on my PC to the download and installation of AIM 6.5. It also caused my network icon in my system tray show i was no longer connected to a network, and it was an unknown network.

    To fix these problems use the system restore program that Vista comes with and restore your PC to a saved version before your installation of AIM 6.5.

    Hopefully this helps everyone having these problems.

    Note: Aim will no longer work after doing system restore, so you have to re-install in, and if you dont have the install package for 6.0 saved somewhere on your computer do not re-install 6.5, go to the aim site and look for the classic version 5.9.
     
  2. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
  3. avidsensei

    avidsensei

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    my media player seems to be working fine with aim 6.5
     
  4. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,458
    Point of order... I have Vista, and happily installed AIM 6.5 It gave no problems whatsoever, media played fine, and all systems functioing normally. Possibly there is a conflict with other installed items?
     
  5. avidsensei

    avidsensei

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    messes up media center too DO NOT INSTALL!!!
     
  6. cfs525

    cfs525

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    I know this for a fact, I rolled back my computer because my audio was screwy, and my audio was fine after the rollback, and I was literally listening to music and while I installed AIM and during the installation I got an audio error message.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Upgrade causes media
  1. LUIS39
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    481
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/645302

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice