Aiptek camera

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lisaa7002

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2003
Messages
1,258
I'm writing this from my parent's house as I am completely unable to connect to the internet.

I bought a Aiptek pencam sd & while installing it windows popped up to say the camera hadn't been tested & my cause problems. I tried to stop, but it kinda went on without me & when I looked in the booklet that came with the camera, it said " this window will pop up, but this is completely xp compatible, so just click continue anyway." , well as I said it was moving on, and it seemed ok. I took a couple pictures & all seemed well until & tried to do something else & then Every thing I tried to do brought up a " _______ is not a valid windows image. check with your installation diskette. & when I try to connect it gives me a Error 663(i think) saying that the modem is already in use or not configured correctly. Dell & Earthlink both tried to help me, but nothing worked. Dell is sending me a new reinstallation cd, but I was hoping maybe some of you computer wizards here might be able to help me out.

I did a hijack this, adaware, & spybot & cleared it out - & did a system restore. Gonna have Dad check this later for me, I hope you guys can shed some light on the situation! ANY help will be appreciated. Thanks guys!
 

lisaa7002

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2003
Messages
1,258
poor aiptek!!! finally got onto internet to find out it's balster worm!!! Now I have to e- mail an appology! :D
 

lisaa7002

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2003
Messages
1,258
No, even very mad I was still polite & said please & thank you! Wasn't brought up to be very mean... Although if I hadn't been able to fix it & it WAS them I'da probably smacked someone silly!;)
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
That was nice of you to be nice and mad same time but keep the mad part out of the email. :D

So does the camera work ok now?
 

lisaa7002

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2003
Messages
1,258
I haven't gotten that far yet. Have been trying to clear up possible virus.... Norton said I had one, but now scan came up clean.... Oh well as long as I can get on here I'm ok!

I may return camera anyway- Pictures seemed kinda fuzzy.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
Best reboot and do a scan again.

Yea I don't really know about the Aiptek camera but I think they are on the cheaper side.
You get what you pay for and your be more happy with one that cost more but takes good pictures.

Is this what you got?
http://www.aiptek.com/products/digital/sd.htm
I see they have others here.
http://shop.aiptek.com/?page=category&cat=1

But you need to spend more to get something to make you happy.
Get one that takes at less 2 Mp but 3 Mp is better to start with. Plus get one that you can add memory to and not the builded on memory. Your see lots of threads here on camera in this forum.
 

lisaa7002

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2003
Messages
1,258
Thanks hewee. I was not wanting to spend much (mommies never spend much on themselves), but since it will be for pictures of my babies I may give in and get somethig better. Anyone have any suggestions? How about Ebay? Can I get anything decent from there? I still would want to spend under $100.00.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
Your welcome.
Well mommy you will not get any good picture for a camera that cost a $100.00. The picture will be memories of your babies so your be so happy that you got something better because you have good pictures. Plus your babies will like them when they grow up. You be able to make good prints etc.

My camera is a coolpix 3.1 Mp and you can see ones I took at my webshots link. Tuppence2 has a sony that cost less and takes better pictures. She has a link to webshots and has lot of picture to see also.

Read these threads:
http://forums.techguy.org/t143990/s.html
http://forums.techguy.org/t166373/s.html
http://www.dpreview.com/
http://www.imaging-resource.com/
http://www.imaging-resource.com/WB/WB.HTM Good way to look at what you want to use the camera for and what cameras are best for what your use it for here.

This is what I got.
http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/CP3100/CP31A.HTM

Look at this good deal
Fuji FinePix A303 for $176 shipped
http://www.imaging-resource.com/DEALS.HTM#newsitemEpyukulZAVTulQnHlh
Quick Review of
Fuji FinePix A303 Digital Camera
http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/A303/A303A.HTM

It is a older model but that is ok. The price is good.
Because most will cost $300.00 or more to get a good camera that is about the same. But as new models come out your get deals on the older ones.

I am sure other will post here to help you out.
Maybe you will be able get those great xmas pictures this year. :)
 

lisaa7002

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2003
Messages
1,258
Well as I was returning my camera to Wal -mart I noticed they had a bunch clearanced. I got a Samsung Digimax 101 1.3 mp. for $60. It has the lcd screen, flash, timer, white balance, takes movie clips, has 8mb internal memory, & can take a sd card,well it has more than I knew they could have. I would have liked a higher mp, but this was half price- & really actually more than I wanted to spend... Once I get some stuff on ebay with this & (hopefully) make some money I will probably upgrade..
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
Hay great lisa. :)
As you know you can get better but for $60.00 and a better camera then you just had.
If you take pictures at the high setting they will look ok. My sister's is a 1.3 mp and it is not to bad.

So take some pictures of your kids and post them.

Now just start saving money for a better camera. Think of the camera you want and what it cost and start saving. Note: when you saved up the amount your see that you can get the same camera for less because the prices keep coming down. So your feel you saved money or your buy a better one. :)
 

lisaa7002

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2003
Messages
1,258
Thanks Hewee! & I just wanted to say you pics make me very Jealous! They take you RIGHT THERE!
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
Your welcome Lisa.
Thanks but my camera just takes better pictures. Also cost a lot more.
I wanted a even better camera but being new to the dig camera and also in a rush to get it because I got a bug in me when sister called to say that she was having a 75th birthday for my dad. So I wanted to get pictures of it. I also wanted something small that would be easy to carry around and it is small. It is about the size of a pack of cigarettes. It was with tax just over $400.00 but I got another bigger memory card and a battery charger and rechargeable batterys.
So the one I really want can wait because it will cost $1000.00 or so.
But they are bigger and my coolpix is small so it is easy to keep with you in your pocket.

You should be happy with your new camera.
 

lisaa7002

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2003
Messages
1,258
$400.00??? You know how many school lunches that would buy??? ;) :D Lol Wow I gotta get a job..... Well once both kids are in school anyway!!!
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
Yes but you get what you pay for too. Could of got another brand for less that would of take pictures as good. Nikon camera are good and you pay more for them.
But I want a better one some day so I can great pro looking pictures.
Want a real good zoom where you can change the lens etc. But they are like the SLR canmera and are not small. That was one reason I got the the coolpix so I could have a small one to carry around.

When I went on a trip with the kids up to the redwoods I took my video camera and my SLR. Well they are big and having to carry them around is a pain. Don't know but the two of them and the cases etc I bet was 10 lbs or so.
My small coolpix is 5.3 oz :)

Better start making the peanut butter and jelly sandwichs for school lunchs. :p
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top