1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

alctel power goes off

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by lee99, Sep 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lee99

    lee99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    i am having problems with my broadband modem in that the power keeps on going off. i have spoken to the company that supplied it and they said the modem is fine. and that it is something to do with my computer. i have been told by people who know about these things that my pc. has everything ok with it. has anybody else had or heard any problems with this happening to them.
    i did update the new driver and for 2 days it worked fine however it has now started to play up again.
    if anybody can help i will be very greatful.
    thank you
     
  2. Memory_Loss

    Memory_Loss

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Try a different power outlet.

    Is your modem where it can air our?
    Heat build up in modems can cause this to happen.
     
  3. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    When you say "the power goes off", do you mean all the modem lights go out?

    How is your modem connected to your PC?

    USB?
    LAN (Ethernet local area network)?
    Internal PCI modem?
     
  4. lee99

    lee99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    i do use a usb connection. and the modem is on top of my processor so it is well ventilated. any other suggestions would be much appricatated. when i say the power goes off. i mean that both of the lights switch off.
    cheers
     
  5. play1998

    play1998

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    ummm what are you running windows xp is the alcatel speed touch usb that looks like a sting ray most prob it is gonna be a driver issue if not then it is a bad modem.
     
  6. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    I am not familiar with the Speedtouch USB (I use an Alcatel Speedtouch ethernet router).

    I assume it will have an external power plug-pack. Thats where I would look first.

    If all the power is derived from the plugpack, its unlikely to be a driver issue. If the USB port supplies the power for the lights, then it could be, or it could be that the USB port on the PC cannot supply enough power and is shutting down.

    Make sure you are not running the USB connection from a non powered hub, try a different USB socket on the PC.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168600

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice