alctel power goes off

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lee99

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
29
i am having problems with my broadband modem in that the power keeps on going off. i have spoken to the company that supplied it and they said the modem is fine. and that it is something to do with my computer. i have been told by people who know about these things that my pc. has everything ok with it. has anybody else had or heard any problems with this happening to them.
i did update the new driver and for 2 days it worked fine however it has now started to play up again.
if anybody can help i will be very greatful.
thank you
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
77
Try a different power outlet.

Is your modem where it can air our?
Heat build up in modems can cause this to happen.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
When you say "the power goes off", do you mean all the modem lights go out?

How is your modem connected to your PC?

USB?
LAN (Ethernet local area network)?
Internal PCI modem?
 

lee99

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
29
i do use a usb connection. and the modem is on top of my processor so it is well ventilated. any other suggestions would be much appricatated. when i say the power goes off. i mean that both of the lights switch off.
cheers
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
65
ummm what are you running windows xp is the alcatel speed touch usb that looks like a sting ray most prob it is gonna be a driver issue if not then it is a bad modem.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
I am not familiar with the Speedtouch USB (I use an Alcatel Speedtouch ethernet router).

I assume it will have an external power plug-pack. Thats where I would look first.

If all the power is derived from the plugpack, its unlikely to be a driver issue. If the USB port supplies the power for the lights, then it could be, or it could be that the USB port on the PC cannot supply enough power and is shutting down.

Make sure you are not running the USB connection from a non powered hub, try a different USB socket on the PC.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top