1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

aliens v predator sound problem

Discussion in 'Games' started by ian.t, Jan 15, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ian.t

    ian.t Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    312
    Managed to acquire avp but having trouble with sound. The game has been patched but during gameplay I am unable to hear the sound of weapons when playing the marine, yet all other sounds etc are fine !

    Its got me stumped:mad:

    ian.t
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya

    Try this. Control Panel | Multimedia | Audio | Playback/Advanced Properties | Performance.
    Slide the bar down one notch to the left. You want to be going away from full hardware acceleration.

    What is your OS?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. ian.t

    ian.t Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    312
    Cheers Eddie ! Will give that a go.

    Current operating system is:

    AMD K6-2 366 MHz 3D NOW with 196 Mb Ram
    ATI Rage Pro Turbo AGP x2
    Voodoo 2 (16 Mb)
    Soundblaster 64v PCI
    Windows 98se

    A bit long in the tooth but surely enough to run AvP ?!

    ian.t
     
  4. ian.t

    ian.t Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    312
    A bit bizarre but the game now runs fine in Direct X 7 - as opposed to direct X 8.1 which i have had installed !

    or was it the reformat ?!!

    cheers

    ian.t
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya

    Am I right in thinking that you just did a format to get the game working? Did the hardware acceleration not work?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  6. ian.t

    ian.t Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    312
    The re-format was done as a cure to a multitude of problems ! not specifically AvP, but 'Everquest' was crashing also and i had a thrashing HD, despite all the mem.

    Tried your fix but it crashed before I got the damn thing running ! so I couldn't even say if it worked. Everquest requires Direct X 8.1 so if things go belly up when I reinstall then I know what the problem is;)

    cheers!

    ian.t
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65040

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice