1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

All around problems :\

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Mr.Bungle, Apr 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mr.Bungle

    Mr.Bungle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Alright people I got some fun stuff here. Alright , I ahd my comuter running smoothly(Made Myself). I have a Sy-KT400 mobo, amd xp 2400+, 120Gig seagate HDD, Artec generic cd-drive/burner, Radeon 9800 Pro, 350 watt nspire PS, Gig of pc 3200. Now as I was saying it all was running smoothly except for the fact that I am anal and can leave nothing alone if it isnt perfect, which something wasnt. the ATI CPanel's smartgart wasnt showing that I was running at 8x and I couldnt figure out why, so i installed the newest drivers for my mobo and that did thetrick, although after that a whole lot of problems spurred up. Everything started getting wackyEverything crashing etc. I decided to just reformat. I am an avid gamer, especially CS, so when I tried to install steam i kept getting this I/0 Error and I couldnt install it. So this of course pissed me of(this was right after format nothing installed including drivers.) So I installed everything again, yadda yadda yadda and I still couldnt install steam. So I reformatted like 5 more times, same process same result. I finally got it to install in some freak accident, but now my comp keeps restarting and shutting down out of the blue. I dont believe it is a faulty PS because it is new and I just tested it, but neways, now I cannot burn CD's. I have Nero, Alcohol 120%, and Clone CD all of which will not burn. Once in a while a cd will burn, but my comp freezes up for a min and a half before it does. Most commonly it either just freezes or the counter for elapsed time just keeps going up and the drive isnt spinning up. Well anyone have any ideas? lol. I have tried only having one of each of the burning progs on my comp at a time and still it freezes. I really want to fix this, so please all suggestions or help is greatly appreciated :) If you need any clarifications just ask. Also if you wuld like to get ahold of me to try and help me my AIM: RoyBiggins87 MSN:[email protected] Yahoo:Roy_biggins2002. I am mainly on AIM and Y!
    Thanks! :)
     
  2. Mr. PC Doc

    Mr. PC Doc

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    188
    I believe I may know the answer to your problem. Check your motherboard for bent or bursting capacitors (they look like batteries). You may also have installed the wrong BIOS for your motherboard. Download the CORRECT, or another version of the correct BIOS, for the exct motherboard, as this could be the problem too. I am asking you to install it again, because, it may not have installed properly. Also go to www.grisoft.com and download the free AV, scan for viruses. Go to www.download.com and download Ad Aware 6 and Spybot, Search and Destroy. Scan and delete all bad files.

    Do you have the proper Heat sink/Fan on your CPU? Make sure it is working, and you are using thermal paste. Also make sure all of your case fans are owrking, and try taking the cover off of your case. By any chance, did you overclock? This could also be the problem. Clock down your processor.

    Last but not least, take the battery out of your BIOS on the motherboard... wait about 5 minutes, put it back in, and reboot the ol' computer. Still doesn't work?
     
  3. Mr.Bungle

    Mr.Bungle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Alrighty, i'll go try that right now. One more thing I forgot to write was about my HDD. I have a 120gig, but after partitioning it it says it is only 111??? This has also always bothered me. I ran this program called kill disk to try and completely get rid of everything and when I ran it, it showed another 10 gigs of unused space in a seperate partition. How do I get my full 120gig capacity?
     
  4. Mr.Bungle

    Mr.Bungle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    139
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/217590

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice