1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

All downloads are corrupt!

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (Not Computer-Related)' started by Drewk857, Apr 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Drewk857

    Drewk857 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Any files I attempt to download download but then when I attempt to install it will say it is either corrupt or not intact. For example if I try to download Flash Player it will come up with "Adobe Flash Player 10 did not pass the integrity check "Resume" "End"" and if I resume it will repeat. This is not related to any file or my network as my brother can download his fine and if I can install things from another medium. Any help is appreciated, thanks!
     
  2. Jessica-chen

    Jessica-chen

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Hi, you can try this. Download the file in your brother's computer, and make sure it can be installed, then copy that file to your computer by a usb or anything. Run it and check whether it can be installed.
    Please check that whether your computer has some virus.
     
  3. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,172
    Jessica-chen I have removed your referrer link, you have already been warned not to post these links.
    If you do not cease and desist, your account will be permanently banned.
     
  4. Drewk857

    Drewk857 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Okay.... but as I said the files are not at fault, it is the download
     
  5. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Have you checked the hard drive to make sure there are no errors?

    VISTA instructions.
     
  6. Drewk857

    Drewk857 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    The problem has spread to my Ipod touch and my brother's lappy, so it must be the network, I'll contact my ISP
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916734

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice