1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

all microsoft office documents can't reopen once closed

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by pk89, Feb 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pk89

pk89 Thread Starter

my microsoft word, excel, powerpoint, etc. doesn't re-open after i close the document (even after i save it).

i have to leave my computer on all night or email it to myself as an attachment and copy&paste a document everytime i need to continue working on a paper.

please help me. i'm not technically challenged, but i'm not that great either. help would be greatly appreciated :)

2. EBSchrader

EBSchrader

Some additional information would be helpful. Which Office are you using? 2007? 2003? Other?

Now, let's start with a Word document. When you are ready to stop writing on it, how do you save it? The way I save a Word document is to click on File/Save as... and then browse to the appropriate folder, such as My Documents. In the line at the bottom of the box, I assign a title to the document other than Document 1, so that I can locate it by its subject matter. Then I click on Save. At that point, the new title should show at the top of your Word screen for that document, and you can click on File/Close/Exit or just click on the X in the upper right corner.

Try that method, if you are doing something else, and let us know if it cures your problem. Welcome to Tech Suuport Guy Forums, by the way. :)

3. pk89

pk89 Thread Starter

it's 2003.

i do the same thing as you when i save but once i close out of the document i can't re-open it :/

4. EBSchrader

EBSchrader

What methods have you used to reopen the document? There are several.

5. pk89

pk89 Thread Starter