1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

All of sudden cannot print and save an image!!!

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by xyl3, Feb 6, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xyl3

    xyl3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    I am not sure if this is right forum, but this is the problem which has just happened. A zillion times before when I see an image I want to save, I will use Ctrl + Print, and right click irfanview icon on Desktop and then I can edit the image and save and the info will look like this: C\Users\My PC\Documents\atinyz.jpg - Irfanview.

    But three times now when I have tried to save images and I try to view images I am getting this:
    C\Users|My PC\Documents\imaged:Can't read header
    !
    Unknown file format,empty/damaged file or file not found!

    test: C\Users\My PC\Documents\atinyz.jpg - Irfanview


    what has gone wrong?

    #ps I had my previous computer system Windows XP since 2006 till last month and not once did i have this problem!
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2020
  2. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,546
    First Name:
    Liz
    Where is the image?
    I simply right click any unprotected image and select save image as. I don't invoke Irfan until after the image is on my computer's desktop.
    In Windows 10, the right click menu might say Save as Picture.
     
  3. xyl3

    xyl3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    I have done the same process literally thousands of times and have never had a problem till now. Let me try and explain the process I have done for years . OK I see an image. it my be a picture, or something I have been working on, or anytthing I see on the screen. So I use the Ctrl + Print keys. Then I open Irfanview which I can usually open the image in to edit it. Once done I save it, and then the image file shows up in my documents and I can open it. Why is that process not working now is my question. And how can I resolve this issue?
     
  4. xyl3

    xyl3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    ~~~OK I just tried the 'SaveImageAs and it did work I see an image file! But as of now not sure why the other process which I have done for years and years doesn't now work? (just opened it in Irfanview!) nust know why the other process has stopped working??
     
  5. xyl3

    xyl3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    I am not understanding why I am not getting any support with this problem? I just got told off for trying to get help with this in another forums I had been getting response from. I put it was 2URGENT" there, because it is to me. I do a lot of image editing, and I am at a loss why what I have been doing for yonks is not working now. ...? Anyone there?
     
  6. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,836
    First Name:
    Karen
    You need to be more patient. You have a response here and you've now added more information so I'm sure someone will be along in due time to assist. You have to give people a chance. It's only been two hours since the post by plodr. This is not live tech support. We are all volunteers and we help when we can. Many work and are in different time zones so you can't expect instant reponses all the time. If you haven't received a reply after 24 hours then you can post a new reply to bump the thread back up where it will more likely be seen again.

    If the matter is that urgent to you and we aren't fast enough for your liking then you should get help from a professional computer technician.
     
  7. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,003
    First Name:
    Jay
    Ctrl + Print .. (Alt + Prt) .. or just (Prt) .... only puts the image on the desktop in the clipboard .. same as a Copy or Cut of text
    From there, you must open any Image or Irfanview and perform a Paste.
    I use the attached Irfanview Shortcut to perform the Paste operation after a Prt (Copy Screen)
    After the clicking Paste shortcut .. the image is ready to edit and save.
    This is from my W7 ... but it should work on your W10 if 64bit and you installed the Irfanview 64bit
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 6, 2020
  8. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,003
    First Name:
    Jay
    If I understand this correctly .... It looks like you're missing a Paste operation.
    This is required to move the clipboard Image to Irfanview.

    My paste shortcut (above) performs the opening of Irfanview (or an Image) and the Paste in one click.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2020
  9. xyl3

    xyl3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    All I know is I have done that - the first part of what you said a zillion times and had no ptoblem till today when printing an image from powerpoint. I thought it may be something to do with powerpoint so I just did same, trying to paste an image from google images into Irfanview and save, and same thing happened. the pop up saying it could not read header, and file may be lost etc etc...??

    Just let me remind you what the process I have always done so it is clear. So I may see an image, be it Googimatges, something I am editing in another program, or an image from a video etc, and I will go : Ctrl + Print > Windows key + M :right click on Irfanview icon > paste image there > edit it > Save. And the images always appeared in my documents OK. But now they are not.
     
  10. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,003
    First Name:
    Jay
    I'm wondering if they are going to my Docs ... Or elsewhere ???

    Irfanview will give you a choice .... where to save to.
    Make sure it's set to save where you want the image to go.

    FYI ... Alt+Prt will only save the active window shown.
     
  11. xyl3

    xyl3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    They have been going to the same place for all the time it was working right. the only thing that has gone wrong is them not saving right. that is what I am wanting to find out. I have just updated Irfanview. But am sure that is not problem because the images were saving OK in the older version.
     
  12. Johnny b

    Johnny b

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    6,374
    First Name:
    John
    As stated, once you have pasted your screen shot into Irfanview, you need to save it.

    You have three choices
    "Save(original folder)"
    "Save as"
    "Save for Web"

    Your first save, use "Save as" then choose a folder to save to.
    The following save, again use the "Save as", but the folder that opens up will be the same as the first save unless you need to change the location. Save to it.

    If you open and edit the image in Irfanfiew afterwards, use "Save(original folder)

    I just tested this on my Win 10 Pro 1909 using Irfanfiew.
     
  13. xyl3

    xyl3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    OK, It is really late here in the UK and am going to go sleep very soon.... I will definitely try this tommorow. Thanks. I have also updated Irfanview (but I don't think that is problem)
     
  14. Johnny b

    Johnny b

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    6,374
    First Name:
    John
    I just booted up my Win7 computer using an older version of Irfanview and the process is the same
     
  15. Johnny b

    Johnny b

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    6,374
    First Name:
    John
    Good luck :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - sudden cannot print
  1. nyali345
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    618
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1239853

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice