All Systems Freeze

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JudieBee

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2001
Messages
56
I am having a problem with my computer freezing. I have a Compaq 5352, & am running windows 98 second edition. I have defragmented almost every day. Scan disk finds no problems. I have only 56% system resources free, which I do not understand, since I recently did restore on the computer. The D drive looks almost full ( approx 7/8) could that be the problem? I know D drive is a backup drive but what is on it exactly & why cannot some of it be removed. Does it have the files & programs on it, that were there before restore? Please Help This Freezing up is about to make me want to toss my computer out the window. I also have checked for viruses with two different virus companies.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,282
Hiya

First off, just do a defrag once a month. Everyday will just ruin it.

Now,as you have low rescources, that points to programs in the background.
Go to Run and type MSINFO32. On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list here.

Regards

eddie
 

JudieBee

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2001
Messages
56
Thank you for your quick reply. I did as you said but got misconfig32 or one of it's components cannot be found. Now what? I have been busy removing programs that I never use and now have system resourses up to 61%. My system froze twice just trying to get back to this post. Thanks
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,282
Hiya

Try this way:

Start | programs | Accesories | System Tools | System Information.

Now, do the copy/paste thing I mentioned.

Regards

eddie
 

JudieBee

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2001
Messages
56
Microsoft Windows 98 4.10.1998
Clean install using OEM Preinstall Kit /T:C:\WININST0.400 /SrcDir=C:\WINDOWS\OPTIONS\CABS /IS /IW /IQ /ID /IV /IZ /II /NR /II /C /U:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
IE 5 5.50.4522.1800
Uptime: 0:00:12:35
Normal mode
On "COMPUTER" as "Default"
Compaq Computer Corporation
GenuineIntel Pentium(r) II Processor Intel MMX(TM) Technology
63MB RAM
51% system resources free
Windows-managed swap file on drive C (3584MB free)
Available space on drive C: 3584MB of 5599MB (FAT32)
Available space on drive D: 323MB of 2446MB (FAT32)

Is this what you needed? Why does it show 51% free when last night it showed 60 plus? Thanks
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
When you get to the system Information double click on “Software Environment” and double click “Startup Programs”. Copy/paste that list. It likely has a lot of stuff you don’t need at startup.
 

JudieBee

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2001
Messages
56
Compaq A1500 Settings Utility Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Compaq\Compaq A1500 All-In-One\CPQA1500.exe"
MSMSGS Registry (Per-User Run) "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\taskmon.exe
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
EM_EXEC Registry (Machine Run) c:\mouse\system\em_exec.exe
CPQEASYACC Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Compaq\Easy Access Button Support\cpqeadm.exe
EACLEAN Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Compaq\Easy Access Button Support\eaclean.exe
Aureal A3D Interactive Audio Init Registry (Machine Run) A3dInit.exe
Compaq Internet Setup Registry (Machine Run) C:\Compaq\Internet\InetWizard.exe /RUN
CISrvr Program Registry (Machine Run) C:\COMPAQ\INTERNET\CISRVR.EXE
Service Connection Registry (Machine Run) c:\cpqs\bwtools\bwtray.exe
VsecomrEXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSECOMR.EXE
VsStatEXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSSTAT.EXE /SHOWWARNING
McAfeeWebScanX Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\WebScanX.exe
OEMCLEANUP Registry (Machine Run) C:\windows\OPTIONS\oemreset.exe
StillImageMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
LexStart Registry (Machine Run) lexstart.exe
LexmarkPrinTray Registry (Machine Run) PrinTray.exe
SHPC32 Registry (Machine Run) shpc32.exe
LoadQM Registry (Machine Run) loadqm.exe
MCAgentExe Registry (Machine Run) C:\program files\mcafee.com\Agent\mcagent.exe
MCUpdateExe Registry (Machine Run) C:\program files\mcafee.com\Agent\mcupdate.exe /embedding
mgavrtclexe Registry (Machine Run) C:\windows\MCBin\AV\Rt\mgavrtcl.exe
Tau Monitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\AGNITUM\TAUSCAN 1.6\TAUMON.EXE
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
SchedulingAgent Registry (Machine Service) mstask.exe
Aureal A3D Interactive Audio Registry (Machine Service) sa3dsrv.exe
CPQDFWAG Registry (Machine Service) C:\WINDOWS\cpqdiag\CpqDfwAg.exe -I
McAfeeWebScanX Registry (Machine Service) C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\WebScanX.Exe /RUNSERVICES
HC Reminder Registry (Machine Service) hc.exe
mgavrtclexe Registry (Machine Service) C:\windows\MCBin\AV\Rt\mgavrte.exe
Better?? JudieBee
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,282
Okay, lets have a look:


Compaq A1500 Settings Utility:

MSMSGS: MSN Messenger utility starts up automatically every time you start Windows. If you don't use MSN Messenger, this can be annoying. Available via Start -> Programs - not required

ScanRegistry: Keep

TaskMonitor: The Task Monitor the disk-access patterns of programs when they are started and stores this information in log files in the Applog folder. Task Monitor also records the number of times you use a program. The Disk Defragmenter tool uses this information to optimize your hard disk so that programs that you use frequently are loaded faster. Not required - but can be useful

SystemTray: keep

LoadPowerProfile: Power management specifics such as monitor shut-off, system standby, etc. keep

EM_EXEC: Logitech Mouseware driver. Needed to support some additional functionality of Logitech mice/trackballs

CPQEASYACC: For Compaq PC's. Keyboard button support. Not required if you don't use these buttons

EACLEAN: For Compaq PC's. Easy Access button support for the keyboard. Not required if you don't use these buttons

Aureal A3D Interactive Audio Init: For Aureal based 3D soundcards. A3D sound features won't work with this disabled

Compaq Internet Setup: For Compaq PC's. Runs Compaq internet setup wizard and offers you to signup from ISP list. Not required

CISrvr Program: For Compaq PC's. Part of Compaq Internet Setup. Not required

VsecomrEXE: From McAfee VirusScan up to version 4.x. This executable is responsible for the periodic "update" prompts. Not required

VsStatEXE: From McAfee VirusScan up to version 4.x. Handles program communication among VShield components, displays VShield icon. Can be started automatically or available via Start -> Programs

McAfeeWebScanX: From McAfee VirusScan up to version 4.x. Provides functionality for VShield Download Scan and Internet Filter modules. Enables internet scanning. If you normally have scanning disabled, use Start -> Programs to start it and enable the Internet options prior to connecting. Guards against malicious ActiveX programs, etc

OEMCLEANUP: Resets OEM installation settings at bootup. Not required unless you're new to PC's

StillImageMonitor: If your scanner does not have a button to initiate scanning you kill stimon. Even if it does have a button, you can still manually launch the scanning application. If unavailable via Start -> Programs

LexStart: Lexmark printer software may add Lexstart.exe in the startup folder to handle print commands that you send to the printer.This can cause dial-up networking to prompt you to dial your isp. Not required - remove via Printer configuration rather than MSCONFIG

LexmarkPrinTray: Lexmark Printer icon in the System Tray for quick access. Not required - remove via Printer configuration rather than MSCONFIG

SHPC32: "Compaq printer utility which is required in the startup menu in order to make the printer work correctly". Personally I doubt whether it is actually needed. If unavailable via Start -> Programs

LoadQM: Loads the MSN Explorer Query Manager - a waste of resources and bandwidth. Also installed by the latest version of MSN Messenger. Not required

MCAgentExe:

MCUpdateExe:

mgavrtclexe: McAfee's Virus Scan Online. I recommend you leave it enabled if you regularily use the internet, especially with the number of viruses being released everyday

Tau Monitor:

SchedulingAgent: Microsoft Scheduling Agent displayed as a box with a stopwatch in the System Tray - only needed if you have regular scheduled disk defragmenting, ScanDisk, etc. Recommend you run these at regular intervals anyway so not needed as they can interrupt other programs

Aureal A3D Interactive Audio: For Aureal based 3D soundcards. A3D sound features won't work with this disabled

McAfeeWebScanX: From McAfee VirusScan up to version 4.x. Provides functionality for VShield Download Scan and Internet Filter modules. Enables internet scanning. If you normally have scanning disabled, use Start -> Programs to start it and enable the Internet options prior to connecting. Guards against malicious ActiveX programs, etc

HC Reminder: For Compaq PC's. Help Compiler, crunches help database, will run without being in startup when needed. Not required

Phew, that was fun.

Okay, go to Run and type MSCONFIG. Go to Startup tab, and uncheck all that you don't want. Apply and restart. If you're unsure about any, do them seperately, but make sure that you apply and restart after each one.

Regards

eddie
 

JudieBee

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2001
Messages
56
Hi Ya Eddie! Thanks for letting me pick your brain, so to speak. I did as you said & now am back to 63% free system resourses. But the bad news is I am still having some freeze ups. It took me three tries to get into this site & post a reply. Anything else I can do? One Question conserning the A3D sound card, Will it affect the sound & music I get in e-mails or the MP3 that I have downloaded? Thanks a million. JudieBee
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,282
Hiya

lets try a cleanup. Go here and do what it says:

http://www.piersontech.com/07-CleanHardDrive.htm

You have some files to remove, as you have done the defrag stuff.

About the D Drive: You say its for backups. Has it got your entire system on it, as a full backup?

As for the A3D sound card, if you disable it via MSCONFIG, then the sound may not play for those type of files. You can have an attempt at it, just put it back if you have no sound.

Regards

eddie
 

JudieBee

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2001
Messages
56
I really don't understand what is on D drive. Compaq refers to it as Drive D Sysytem Save & when you go to backup your work you can back it up on that drive. As well as Floppy Disk. I have Drive D copied onto a floppy disk, as I was going to try to free up some space but all the ways I have tried will not let me do anymore than copy that drive. There must be allot more on it than I have left on my C drive since Quickrestore, because I have maybe 1/16 of the files & programs on my computer now than I did before Quick restore. I did the clean up you suggested and found many things there that I thought were removed by Quickrestore, some of them I had removed myself long before I had to restore. How can I have fewer files & programs & less free system resources than before restore? If it would help I can copy & paste what my computer says is on my D drive. " My Hats Off To You" ( A texans way of expressing admiration & thanks.)
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,282
Well, there is a way to print your screen. I can't remember fully, but some of the others may. I think you have the screen display that you want, say the error box, and you click Alt and PrintScreen. That is the button above Insert and to the right of F12.

Hang on, just tried it. Yep, do the same as I said, then in paint, go to Edit, Paste.

Then, you can upload the attachemnt, or Post it, as shown here:

http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?threadid=57125

Just read the first bits on how to do it.

btw, is it faster now, or still the same?

eddie
 

JudieBee

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2001
Messages
56
This image thing is cute, but if your last post had to do with my drive problem, I'm afraid you lost me, somewhere. Regards JudieBee
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,282
Hiya

Just about to go.

What it was for, was if there is a pop up box telling you about the D Drive, or if it was text on the screen, you could post it here.

I take it it isn't

eddie
 

JudieBee

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 20, 2001
Messages
56
Sorry, No there have been no errors or warnings about the D drive, I just wondered if it almost being full was causing my freeze problems. Also wondering if D drive gets full is that the max for this computer? If so can I do something to avoid that? The freezing has decreased allot since the clean up.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top