Am I infested with Aliens

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DXC

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
6
Hello,
I'm running XP Pro and recently I downloaded a trial of CA AntiVirus. I ran the program but it seemed to interfere with programs and in particular FireFox, so i removed the program. I've now got AVG 9 Free edition but on installation it said I must remove CA AntiVirus. I looked in add/remove programs but no mention, also no mention in Program Files so then did a search for CA AntiVirus but again nothing. I then checked windows Firewall and it's disabled and I can't enable it. Now a program has appeared with a shortcut on my dektop called Bowser Choice. Did a right click on shortcut and the properties put the target at:-c:\Windows\system32\browserchoice.exe/launch.

I'm a bit scared of even running the computer Please Help even if it's to say nothing to worry about.

DXC
 

DXC

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
6
Hello,
I'm running XP Pro and recently I downloaded a trial of CA AntiVirus. I ran the program but it seemed to interfere with programs and in particular FireFox, so i removed the program. I've now got AVG 9 Free edition but on installation it said I must remove CA AntiVirus. I looked in add/remove programs but no mention, also no mention in Program Files so then did a search for CA AntiVirus but again nothing. I then checked windows Firewall and it's disabled and I can't enable it. Now a program has appeared with a shortcut on my dektop called Bowser Choice. Did a right click on shortcut and the properties put the target at:-c:\Windows\system32\browserchoice.exe/launch.

I'm a bit scared of even running the computer Please Help even if it's to say nothing to worry about.

DXC

Sorry just realised I should include HiJack log
 

Attachments

DXC

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
6
Hello,
I attached the HijackThis log to my explanation of problems I'm experiencing with my computer, which is posted above. Since then I ran Rootkit Revealer which I found on the Microsoft Web site. It highlighted a lot of areas but most of the highlighted areas had 0 bytes. Is it possible to have malware with 0 bytes.
I'm still very worried and apprehensive as I can feel that things are not as they should be. I use Firefox most of the time but it has become very unstable, also the computer does not seem to be as "Smooth" as normal.


DXC
 

DXC

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
6
Again a problem, I dfinately attached the HJT log to my previous reply but it's not there!

Hope it's attached to this one.

DXC
 

Attachments

DXC

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
6
I am not trying to "bumb" my thread but I'm now getting extremely worried. A program I've had for years, NERO 7, which I use a lot has now stopped working and the computer and especially firefox is behaving as if "posessed".


DXC
 

DXC

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
6
Please Help,
This morning I noticed that my AVG did not start a scheduled scan. The icon is still in the tray but the program has been nulified, there is no user interface. I'm trying to get it running again but I'm ATM trying to reinstall the program.
I'm getting so worried that my computer is in the process of being wiped out..

DXC
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top