1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

AMD CPU ID - CPU-Z & Sandra Disagree

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Anchoret, Jul 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    308
    Not an earthshaking issue, but I never, ever get the same CPU information from Sandra and CPU-Z. They can't even agree on the core model.

    Are either of these programs reliable, or do they just invent their own information?

    I just ran both on a box here. This are the results:
    ----------------------
    CPU-Z version 1.35
    ----------------------

    CPUID Output
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Number of CPUs 1
    APIC ID 0
    Name AMD Sempron 2600+
    Code name Palermo
    Specification AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 2600+
    Family/Model/Stepping FC0
    Extended Family/Model F/1C
    Brand ID 34
    Package Socket 754
    Core Stepping DH8-D0
    Technology 90nm
    Instructions Sets MMX, Extended MMX, 3DNow!, Extended 3DNow!, SSE, SSE2, x86-64
    Features NX
    Clock Speed 1599.5 MHz
    Clock multiplier x8.0
    HTT Bus Frequency 199.9 MHz
    P-Rating 2600+
    L1 Data Cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
    L1 Instruction Cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
    L2 Cache 128 KBytes, 16-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
    L2 Speed 1599.5 MHz (Full)
    L2 Location On Chip
    L2 Data Prefetch Logic yes
    L2 Bus Width 128 bits

    [...]

    +*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*

    SiSoftware Sandra

    Processor
    Model : AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 2600+
    Speed : 1.60GHz
    Model Number : 2600 (estimated)
    Performance Rating : PR2400 (estimated)
    Cores per Processor : 1 Unit(s)
    Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
    Package : FC µPGA754
    Multiplier : 8/1x
    Generation : G8
    Name : M1C-DH Sempron (K8 Victoria) 90nm 1.4-2.0GHz 1.45-1.55V
    Revision/Stepping : 1C / 0 (882)
    Stepping Mask : DH-D0
    Microcode : MU0FC041
    Core Voltage Rating : 1.400V
    Maximum Physical / Virtual Addressing : 40-bit / 48-bit
    Native Page Size : 4kB

    Co-Processor (FPU)
    Type : Built-in
    Revision/Stepping : 1C / 0 (882)

    Processor Cache(s)
    Internal Data Cache : 64kB Synchronous, Write-Back, 2-way set, 64 byte line size
    Internal Instruction Cache : 64kB Synchronous, Write-Back, 2-way set, 64 byte line size
    L2 On-board Cache : 128kB ECC Synchronous, Write-Back, 16-way set, 64 byte line size
    L2 Cache Multiplier : 1/1x (1600MHz)

    Upgradeability
    Socket/Slot : Socket 754
    Upgrade Interface : ZIF Socket
    Supported Speed(s) : 4.00GHz+

    Environment Monitor 1
    Model : ITE IT8705F LPC
    Version : 2.00
    Mainboard Specific Support : No

    Power Rating(s)
    CPU Core Power : 46W (estimated)

    Sensors
    CPU Temperature : 35.0°C / 95.0°F
    CPU Voltage : 1.42V

    Features
    FPU - Co-Processor Built-in : Yes
    VME - Virtual Mode Extensions : Yes
    DE - Debugging Extension : Yes
    PSE - Page Size Extension : Yes
    TSC - Time Stamp Counter : Yes
    MSR - Model Specific Registers : Yes
    PAE - Physical Address Extension : Yes
    MCE - Machine Check Exception : Yes
    CX8 - Compare & Exchange 8-bytes Instruction : Yes
    APIC - Local APIC Built-in : Yes
    SEP - Fast System Call : Yes
    MTRR - Memory Type Range Registers : Yes
    PGE - Page Global Enable : Yes
    MCA - Machine Check Architecture : Yes
    PAT - Page Attribute Table : Yes
    PSE36 - 36-bit Page Size Extension : Yes
    PSN - Unique Serial Number : No
    CLF - Cache Line Flush Support : Yes
    DS - Debug Trace & EMON Store : No
    ACPI - Software Clock Control : No
    (W)MMX Technology : Yes
    FXSR - Fast Float Save & Restore : Yes
    SSE Technology : Yes
    SSE2 Technology : Yes
    SS - Self Snoop : No
    HTT - Hyper-Threading Technology : No
    TM - Thermal Monitor : No
    PBE - Pending Break Enable : No
    IA64 Technology : No
    SSE3 Technology : No
    MON - Monitor/MWait : No
    DSCPL - CPL qualified Debug Store : No
    VMX - Virtual Machine eXtensions : No
    EST - Enhanced SpeedStep Technology : No
    TM2 - Thermal Monitor 2 : No
    SSE4 Technology : No
    CID - Context ID : No
    CX16 - Compare & Exchange 16-bytes Instruction : No
    xTPR - Send Task Priority Messages : No
    DAZ - Denormals Are Zero : Yes

    Extended Features
    SYCR - Extended Fast System Call : Yes
    EMMX - Extended MMX Technology : Yes
    FXSR - Fast Float Save & Restore : Yes
    FXSR - Instructions Optimisation : Yes
    3DNow! Technology : Yes
    Extended 3DNow! Technology : Yes
    XD/NX - No-execute Page Protection : Yes
    AMD64/EM64T Technology : Yes
    LAHF/SAHF - Support in 64-bit : Yes
    CMP - Multi-Core Legacy Mode : No
    SVM - Secure Virtual Machine : No

    [...]

    +*+*+*+*++*+*+*+*

    OK, now according to this:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_AMD_Sempron_microprocessors

    1: There is no such thing as a Sempron Victoria core (actually, I believe there was)

    2: This "BA" CPU should be a non-AMD64 Palermo.

    So, I'm still not clear on what this CPU is and if it's actually AMD64-capable or not. Both programs seem to think it is, despite disagreeing on what core it has, but is that based on some actual testing, or merely some database info somewhere?

    Thanks for any clarification. I've seen many threads about the unreliability of these various system diagnostic programs, so here's another one.
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,377
    Those apps that check your hardware and tell you what it is are fine, however nothing beats actually looking at the parts to see what you have.

    I would open the case and SEE what board you have. That will tell you what socket ie amd64, athlon, etc you have.
     
  3. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    308
    As I mentioned in the post, the part number does not reduce the confusion, as the information on these part numbers in the link is also contradictory. :confused:

    I'm just trying to find out if either of these programs actually tests the CPU to determine what features are functioning or not.
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,377
    You are not understanding the post. Open the system and look at the parts in question. Once you KNOW what parts you have, it is a simple matter to find out what they are.

    Each cpu has a part number either on the chip or the heat spreader. Just check amd's site with the number. In addition the motherboard will have a part number on it as well.
     
  5. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    308
    No, I understand perfectly. You missed this in my original post:

    That's the point: According to the link the AMD number suggests it's something different from either of the readouts. The Wikipedia file is, I believe, directly from AMD's site but contains other errors -- such as the absence of Sempron "Victoria" cores.

    So, my problem at this point is that I have no known-reliable source of information. :confused:
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,377
    Have you opened the system and looked or are you just using the numbers generated by the apps?
     
  7. Anchoret

    Anchoret Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    308
    The number is from AMD's box the CPU came in. It has the "BA" suffix (as did the CPU's actual markings when I installed it).
     
  8. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,377
    Then go with what amd says. As I posted those apps only give you a general idea.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/486208

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice