1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

AMD model numbers and Speed

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by thampiverghese, Mar 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thampiverghese

    thampiverghese Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2001
    Messages:
    159
    AMD Athalon XP 2900+ has a speed of 2.0GHz, 2600+ is 2.10GHz and 2700+ is 2.17GHz. So which is a speedier processor,the one with a higher model number or the one with a higher GHz.Why a higher model number has a lower GHz? Does anybody know the key to this confusion.Recently at a trade show in Boston I asked a tech at the AMD booth.He said when chips are made many don't turn out to be the one aimed for.So not to waste chips with a different speed is given a new model number??
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,239
    Several things affect the performance rating / clock speed of the chip; fsb [front side bus] speed, amount of cache on the chip. You can have a 2600+ chip with a clock speed of 2.08 and a fsb of 333. You can also have a 2600+ with a clock speed of 2.0 and a fsb of 400.
    The are amd64 chips with the same performance rating and different multipliers. The amount of on chip cache makes the difference.
     
  3. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
    In general, the one running at the higher GHZ will be faster but, there are exceptions depending on cache size on the chip. The two you mention are probably not significantly different from each other.
    Just my 2 cents
     
  4. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    there are different cores and different L2 cache, Bartons are 512 cache, and 333 or 400fsb, there are throughbred cores which are used for the Semprons, 333 fsb with 256 L2, they use to be 266fsb.
     
  5. thampiverghese

    thampiverghese Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2001
    Messages:
    159
    Thanks for all the replies.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/346316

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice