1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

amd x4 845 only 2 cores and 2 threads

Discussion in 'Games' started by QuickyPie, May 29, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. QuickyPie

    QuickyPie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    hey guys, I have only 2 cores and 2 threads and it says I should have 4 cores and 4 threads.
    My specs

    CPU: AMD Athlon X4 845 3.5GHz (3.8GHz) Box AMD® FM2+, AMD® Athlon X4, 4, 4

    GPU: ASUS Radeon RX 550 4GB GDDR5 128bit - RX550-4G PCI Express 3.0, AMD Radeon, AMD Radeon RX 550, 4GB

    MOBO:ASUS A68HM-K

    OS: Windows 10
     
  2. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,430
    Since the AMD X4 845 has 4 cores and 4 threads, I'd try at least one more testing program.
     
  3. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,997
    First Name:
    Allan
    QuickyPie likes this.
  4. QuickyPie

    QuickyPie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I did that, but it shows 2 cores and 2 threads. should I return my pc to the store? Or there is some solution for this.
    thank you for the replay
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Type MSCONFIG in the Search/Cortana box, click on the Boot tab, then click on Advanced Options, and make sure nothing is checked on the screen that comes up, if it is, uncheck everything and reboot.

    Also, not the greatest CPU, hopefully you bought it knowing it's an entry to mid level processor from 2 years ago.
     
  6. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,997
    First Name:
    Allan
    After doing what Triple6 said and the Cpu is correctly identified in the Bios (tap DEL or F2 key at start up to get into Bios) and it shows 4 entries under Processor in Device Manager it should be ok.

    Where are you seeing it only has 2 cores & 2 threads ?
     
  7. QuickyPie

    QuickyPie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I did something (idk what) and now it shows 4 cores and 4 threads in CPU Z

    but in task manager it shows 2 cores and 4 threads.

    I checked 4 cores in msconfig (boot tab\advanced)

    thanks for your help
     
  8. QuickyPie

    QuickyPie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I know its bad cpu, its low budget gaming pc (cant afford more)

    now it show 4 cores in cpu z, but not in task manager
     
  9. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,997
    First Name:
    Allan
    Does it show 4 entries under Processors in Device Manager ?
     
  10. QuickyPie

    QuickyPie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    yes
     
  11. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,430
    Speccy* (free) will also show you the number of cores and threads (under CPU).

    * Speecy is from Piriform, the same company that brought us CCleaner, Recuva, Defraggler and CCleaner for Android.
     
  12. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    You should not be checking anything in MSCONFIG, just unchecking it to return it to the default.

    In Task Manager do you have the view set to Logical Cores:

    upload_2018-5-30_17-41-53.png

    Can you post a screenshot of your Task Manager?
     
  13. QuickyPie

    QuickyPie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    here you go
     

    Attached Files:

  14. QuickyPie

    QuickyPie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    upload_2018-5-31_0-14-36.png here is one more
     
  15. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1210878

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice