1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ancestry.com Site Problems

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by connie189, Nov 6, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. connie189

    connie189 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400T CPU @ 2.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 94 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 8050 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 530, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 930 GB (856 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., V230IC-DDR4
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled

    Hi,

    My husband and I have two computers. His is an older computer; mine is a little over a year old. We both use an Edge browser. His computer is the main computer and I have a router connection. We recently dropped TV/cable service for an internet provider and free TV instead. But things were working until 5 days ago.

    I have a subscription to Ancestry.com. I use Edge to create and maintain numerous trees only from my computer.

    I haven't had any problems until five days ago, when Ancestry (without notice) upgraded their services (DNA section).

    Now, I cannot edit or create trees. There is a "spinning wheel" (like a page trying to download). It's present no matter what I click on in DNA and trees sections (my machine).

    When I click on an individual's information to edit, the usual white editing screen comes up; I can put the info in, but when I hit "enter" the page is frozen. There is also a dark-grey background behind the white editing page that never showed before. Also, a series of numbers, such as 3, 24, 8 99, etc. randomly posted at the top of the left-hand side of the screen. The only way to exit is to click out of Ancestry.

    I discovered that my husband's computer (using Edge) is fully functional on Ancestry. I can edit, create trees, etc. The numbers at the upper left-hand side are not present.

    When I spoke with several Ancestry support reps, they claimed they didn't see the series of number (upper left) and were able to edit. After one rep did an edit, the page seemed to "flash" and then the changes showed up on my end.

    After this, they decided that the problem is my computer.

    I have tried Chrome, Edge and IE browsers. I was able just once to make an edit in Edge and two edits in IE today (my machine) but able to do so now.

    Ancestry had another feature that I signed up for that came through (five days ago) but was in a "loop" after that when I would go back and click on it - the page would just refresh and not bring up the pertinent material as it had before. That finally straightened out.

    Thanks for any insights. :)

    Connie
     
  2. connie189

    connie189 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    37
  3. connie189

    connie189 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    ancestrycdn.com -
    Resolving failed

    Error code 22
    The proxy failed to resolve site from host name, if this site was recently added please allow a few minutes before trying again.

    2018-11-07 03:13:03 UTC
    • Your IP71.86.160.132
    • |Proxy IP45.60.169.132(ID 10530)
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    it is a fault with Ancestry not your end
    From your last post the proxy server is an ancestry proxy, not anything to do with your computer or ISP.
    They appear to have misconfigured it, so it won't look up the destination or pass requests through to the correct destination.

    The proxy IP address & the ancestrycdn.com IP address are the same , so it is continually looping & gives an error 503
     
  5. connie189

    connie189 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Not sure if these fit the situation....trying to find the answer. :))
     
  6. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,031
    First Name:
    David
    Connie,
    What steps are you doing to get into Ancestry?

    If you are clicking a saved icon, then try just go to to Ancestry.com, by typing in the URL.
    Log into your account and see what happens then.
    The icon may be leading you astray.
     
  7. connie189

    connie189 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Thank you for your feedback. :)

    We are still baffled (non-experts here) how two different computers in the same household come up with totally different site experiences. Especially if it is Ancestry's problem (one website).

    For instance, I just tried my husband's computer this morning, right-clicking on Ancestry's edit feature like I did on my computer yesterday.

    This time only three features instead of the five I pulled up yesterday (on my computer) came up.

    The features that I get on my computer from right clicking: SELECT ALL PRINT READ ALOUND VIEW SOURCE INSPECT ELEMENTS
    His computer has only the first three showing.

    Ancestry only works correctly on his computer.

    Also wondering how my computer gets the non-working version and he doesn't.

    We use internet wi-fi.
     
  8. connie189

    connie189 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Hi,

    I've been using Edge. Each time I type in the URL and then log into my account directly on Ancestry on my computer and hubby's.
     
  9. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,031
    First Name:
    David
    When you get to Ancestry.com, do you click on the DNA in menu at the top of the webpage?
    If not, what do you do?

    What is this "ancestrycdn.com" URL?
    I get the same error when I try it?
     
  10. connie189

    connie189 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Hi,

    Right now, being near a holiday $eason, when I key in Ancestry.com in search, I get a recently added promotional page for their DNA services as their home page with Kelly Rippa selling DNA kits.

    I sign in at the upper right corner of that same page and it takes me to the regular home page. If it wasn't a holiday special I would get just the regular home page right off which looks different. (Plain)

    Just now, my first try after not being on all day, the plain page came up with the numbers I mentioned earlier, listed in the upper left hand corner again. I copied and pasted:

    439c Genealogy, Family Trees and Family History Records online - Ancestry.com 8b 89 67 6e 6b 68 51 55 54 a5 98 8f 196 31
    22c
    25
    33f8
    The website you are about to visit is ProGenealogists®, operated
    by TGN Services, LLC, a subsidiary of Ancestry.
    Continue to the ProGenealogists website
    3af
    Make their holidays more meaningful. 20% off Gift Memberships. Buy now.
    23 286
     
  11. connie189

    connie189 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    37
  12. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,031
    First Name:
    David
    Where are you located?

    When I log into Ancestry and click on the DNA menu item, I get two choices, Ancestry DNA or YDNA and mtDNA tests.
    The first one takes me to the Ancestry DNA screen and the second one gives me the following

    upload_2018-11-8_7-58-16.png

    I have my DNA at Familytree DNA, but some how these results are also here at ancestry.
    Can you post a screen shot showing these number in the upper left corner?
     
  13. connie189

    connie189 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Hi,

    I live in the U.S. - Madison, WI

    I did three screen shots.

    First file - shows the home page (without the left side numbers) because they disappeared after I went back to do a screen shot.

    Second file - The home page with the numbers (after I logged out and logged in again to the home page).

    Third file - my DNA page (which looks different than yours).

    Did you pay an additional fee to have both maternal and paternal DNA tests done? I thought from what I read recently, that the basic Ancestry kits advertised only test maternal DNA.

    (And the tests Ancestry offers tests are only good for going back 5 generations).

    Thanks for your time and input. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  14. connie189

    connie189 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    "Family Tree DNA"... another separate service/website? Everything is named a "family tree" in genealogy. :)
     
  15. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,031
    First Name:
    David
    Yes a different service
    https://www.familytreedna.com/

    At the time Ancestry was just starting to get into the DNA thing.

    NOTE: the use of posting screen shots within Word does not work as well as just posting the screen shot as a jpg or some other image format.

    Everyone does not have a program that may open Word.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1218818

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice