Solved Ancestry.com Site Problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

connie189

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
56
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400T CPU @ 2.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 94 Stepping 3
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 8050 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 530, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 930 GB (856 GB Free);
Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., V230IC-DDR4
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled

Hi,

My husband and I have two computers. His is an older computer; mine is a little over a year old. We both use an Edge browser. His computer is the main computer and I have a router connection. We recently dropped TV/cable service for an internet provider and free TV instead. But things were working until 5 days ago.

I have a subscription to Ancestry.com. I use Edge to create and maintain numerous trees only from my computer.

I haven't had any problems until five days ago, when Ancestry (without notice) upgraded their services (DNA section).

Now, I cannot edit or create trees. There is a "spinning wheel" (like a page trying to download). It's present no matter what I click on in DNA and trees sections (my machine).

When I click on an individual's information to edit, the usual white editing screen comes up; I can put the info in, but when I hit "enter" the page is frozen. There is also a dark-grey background behind the white editing page that never showed before. Also, a series of numbers, such as 3, 24, 8 99, etc. randomly posted at the top of the left-hand side of the screen. The only way to exit is to click out of Ancestry.

I discovered that my husband's computer (using Edge) is fully functional on Ancestry. I can edit, create trees, etc. The numbers at the upper left-hand side are not present.

When I spoke with several Ancestry support reps, they claimed they didn't see the series of number (upper left) and were able to edit. After one rep did an edit, the page seemed to "flash" and then the changes showed up on my end.

After this, they decided that the problem is my computer.

I have tried Chrome, Edge and IE browsers. I was able just once to make an edit in Edge and two edits in IE today (my machine) but able to do so now.

Ancestry had another feature that I signed up for that came through (five days ago) but was in a "loop" after that when I would go back and click on it - the page would just refresh and not bring up the pertinent material as it had before. That finally straightened out.

Thanks for any insights. :)

Connie
 

connie189

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
56
ancestrycdn.com -
Resolving failed

Error code 22
The proxy failed to resolve site from host name, if this site was recently added please allow a few minutes before trying again.

2018-11-07 03:13:03 UTC
  • Your IP71.86.160.132
  • |Proxy IP45.60.169.132(ID 10530)
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
it is a fault with Ancestry not your end
From your last post the proxy server is an ancestry proxy, not anything to do with your computer or ISP.
They appear to have misconfigured it, so it won't look up the destination or pass requests through to the correct destination.

The proxy IP address & the ancestrycdn.com IP address are the same , so it is continually looping & gives an error 503
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,891
Connie,
What steps are you doing to get into Ancestry?

If you are clicking a saved icon, then try just go to to Ancestry.com, by typing in the URL.
Log into your account and see what happens then.
The icon may be leading you astray.
 

connie189

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
56
Thank you for your feedback. :)

We are still baffled (non-experts here) how two different computers in the same household come up with totally different site experiences. Especially if it is Ancestry's problem (one website).

For instance, I just tried my husband's computer this morning, right-clicking on Ancestry's edit feature like I did on my computer yesterday.

This time only three features instead of the five I pulled up yesterday (on my computer) came up.

The features that I get on my computer from right clicking: SELECT ALL PRINT READ ALOUND VIEW SOURCE INSPECT ELEMENTS
His computer has only the first three showing.

Ancestry only works correctly on his computer.

Also wondering how my computer gets the non-working version and he doesn't.

We use internet wi-fi.
 

connie189

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
56
Hi,

I've been using Edge. Each time I type in the URL and then log into my account directly on Ancestry on my computer and hubby's.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,891
When you get to Ancestry.com, do you click on the DNA in menu at the top of the webpage?
If not, what do you do?

What is this "ancestrycdn.com" URL?
I get the same error when I try it?
 

connie189

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
56
Hi,

Right now, being near a holiday $eason, when I key in Ancestry.com in search, I get a recently added promotional page for their DNA services as their home page with Kelly Rippa selling DNA kits.

I sign in at the upper right corner of that same page and it takes me to the regular home page. If it wasn't a holiday special I would get just the regular home page right off which looks different. (Plain)

Just now, my first try after not being on all day, the plain page came up with the numbers I mentioned earlier, listed in the upper left hand corner again. I copied and pasted:

439c Genealogy, Family Trees and Family History Records online - Ancestry.com 8b 89 67 6e 6b 68 51 55 54 a5 98 8f 196 31
22c
25
33f8
The website you are about to visit is ProGenealogists®, operated
by TGN Services, LLC, a subsidiary of Ancestry.
Continue to the ProGenealogists website
3af
Make their holidays more meaningful. 20% off Gift Memberships. Buy now.
23 286
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,891
Where are you located?

When I log into Ancestry and click on the DNA menu item, I get two choices, Ancestry DNA or YDNA and mtDNA tests.
The first one takes me to the Ancestry DNA screen and the second one gives me the following

upload_2018-11-8_7-58-16.png

I have my DNA at Familytree DNA, but some how these results are also here at ancestry.
Can you post a screen shot showing these number in the upper left corner?
 

connie189

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
56
Hi,

I live in the U.S. - Madison, WI

I did three screen shots.

First file - shows the home page (without the left side numbers) because they disappeared after I went back to do a screen shot.

Second file - The home page with the numbers (after I logged out and logged in again to the home page).

Third file - my DNA page (which looks different than yours).

Did you pay an additional fee to have both maternal and paternal DNA tests done? I thought from what I read recently, that the basic Ancestry kits advertised only test maternal DNA.

(And the tests Ancestry offers tests are only good for going back 5 generations).

Thanks for your time and input. :)
 

Attachments

connie189

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
56
"Family Tree DNA"... another separate service/website? Everything is named a "family tree" in genealogy. :)
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,891
Yes a different service
https://www.familytreedna.com/

At the time Ancestry was just starting to get into the DNA thing.

NOTE: the use of posting screen shots within Word does not work as well as just posting the screen shot as a jpg or some other image format.

Everyone does not have a program that may open Word.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top