1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Animated gif as Desktop Background

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by jum3r, Oct 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jum3r

    jum3r Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    hi.. i've just downloaded a good animated gif from www.flamingtext.com.. my problem is i cannot save it as my desktop background.. and if i do.. it's not animated like when i view it with windows picture and fax viewer and internet explorer.. please help.. tnx in advance. btw, im using winXP.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    56,816
  3. jum3r

    jum3r Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    tnx hewee.. but why is it that it's working on other computer.. i mean it's animated on their backgrounds.. but on other computer it's not.. because i manage a cafe right now.. and i want it to look better.. tnx again.
     
  4. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    56,816
    I don't know why.

    Maybe it has something to to with Active Desktop that I don't use or know nothing about.
     
  5. Dollygurl

    Dollygurl

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I too have the same problem with one computer displaying animation on the desktop and another one doesn't. I have asked this same question at a different page where I have asked about a missing file, mshtml, from system 32. It's a problem with Outlook Express and Internet Explorer while using Windows XP. I'm new here and I don't know how to direct you there any other way. You will probably have to do a search for that page. And, hopefully, by the time you get there a reply will be posted regarding the animation question.

    Hope this helps and have a wonderful day.
     
  6. lister

    lister

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,993
    If you set an image as your desktop background via the browser, It actually converts it to a *.bmp file and saves it, then uses that.

    You need to save the file to a folder like 'My Pictures' and then navigate to it in the display properties dialogue.
     
  7. exithere

    exithere

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    ...

    .gif's run fine as a desktop ...just like mine is now (just loaded the 'guy banging his head on the keyboard' gif.) it has 121 frames (mostly covered in blood) ...using tiled as a layout I can see more than 100 of him going at it now.

    My system is XP SP2 no mods to the desktop

    ...they do not need to be located anywhere, I can load them from anywhere, even from a WIfi remote HD.

    Why yours does not I will try to come back to and answer ....but needed to get rid of this .bmp and location 'stuff' first.

    ...back soon
     
  8. exithere

    exithere

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Not sure what this means ....I have outlook , my kids have express, but thinking about it, I am running XP Pro so are the kids, but there is a PC here with XP Home (all are SP2) ...checking now

    ......nope it also runs a .gif as an animated background

    but just wanted to clear the dust away
     
  9. nappymonster

    nappymonster

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    193
    This is VERY simple, and you don't need to download anything!

    1) Find the link of the Gif. If you can't find it, upload the downloaded gif to photo bucket or something like that

    2) Right click your desktop and click properties

    3) Click The Desktop Tab

    4) Customize Desktop

    5) Click The Web Tab

    6) New.

    7) Type/Paste the link

    8) Ok.

    9) Wait for it to synchronize!

    This worked fine for me, although occasionally the gifs stopped moving, then randomly started again later :p

    Nappymonster

    EDIT: This does not actually set it as your background, it adds it on top of a current background. When using gifs though you are best to either set it as a white or black background for best results.
     
  10. Dollygurl

    Dollygurl

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I have saved the pictures in "my pictures" but when I opened them they were not animated, only still. Guess I'm spoiled because I've never had a problem like this. This computer was given to me to replace my old Window ME, and I'm noticing it doesn't have all the same bells and whistles. I have only a couple screen savers, and it also doesn't have the picture screen saver, and as you all know, no animation.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/286365