1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Annoying lengthy delay to connect.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by john1, Apr 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi,

    Since installing drivers for a small webcam,
    which i later un-installed,
    i now find i have a considerable delay when connecting to the web.
    But once connected, things run at what seems like its normal speed.
    Until the next time i try to connect.
    This infuriating problem is getting me down,
    any help would be appreciated.

    John :)
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,498
    So can I assume that the delay is simply a delay in displaying the browser page.
    I presume the hardware is not now connected as against just the drivers uninstalled and the warning on the hardware - device manager for the webcam.
    When waiting for the connection - Ctrl Alt del for Task manager - check processes running and ram being used.
    Run - msconfig
    Start Up.. tab - disable any start up items not needed.
    Services tab - check Hide all Microsoft - disable any services - not needed .
    Now check.
     
  3. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi Macboatmaster,

    Please excuse the delay in replying, things got unexpectedly complicated here.
    However, that all is resolved now, the PC however is still behaving badly.
    *
    So can I assume that the delay is simply a delay in displaying the browser page.
    Well, not really.
    There is an unexpected delay in bringing up the browser page, of about four or five seconds,
    enough to make you wonder if your request is being dealt with.
    Then the internet explorer browser page comes up alright, but empty.
    Then after a considerable wait,
    Google appears, which i have as my home page.
    When i say a considerable wait, i can make coffee and toast then come back to it.
    After this its fine, and behaves normally until i re-start my computer.
    *
    I presume the hardware is not now connected as against just the drivers uninstalled
    and the warning on the hardware - device manager for the webcam.

    Oh yes, that piece of ridiculous hardware is now removed, and back in its box.
    The only reason it is not on the fire is the possibility of a refund.
    And i have run the un-installation procedure from the "Add-Remove" so i hope that the
    system has removed the drivers, and it should have put back any alterations.
    However i dont think it has done so.
    I dont recall any warnings in device manager or anywhere else.
    *
    When waiting for the connection - Ctrl Alt del for Task manager - check processes running and ram being used.
    Interesting, i did that and found that the processor was running at maximum for the duration
    of the wait, but dropped right down to normal when the connection was established.
    Ram usage was quite minor.
    *
    Run - msconfig
    Start Up.. tab - disable any start up items not needed.
    Services tab - check Hide all Microsoft - disable any services - not needed .
    Now check.

    Okay, there isnt much in there.
    Only one entry i dont recognise, "dumprep o-k".
    I think its in the hive.

    I also have a Win98se machine, which is running fine.

    John :)
     
  4. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi,

    Started up my Win2k which shares a router with the XP mentioned earlier,
    and i tried to access the internet to see how it got on.

    It got on fine, just as usual.

    My W98se machine also shares the router and that works fine too.

    But my XPpro machine still goes into a coma before connecting.
    I am going to time it and see how long it makes me wait.
    I'm also going to look up "dumprep o-k" to see what it is.

    Cheers, John :)
     
  5. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi,

    I checked what i could on dumprep-Ok but didnt see anything wrong.
    A lot of complaints about it, so i have turned it off.

    I also ran Housecall from TrendMicro.

    Looking around for additional on-line checkers,
    to run more checks.

    John :)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I can't imagine what connecting a web cam would have to do with the problem. I suspect something else is going on that you probably don't think is relevant.

    You didn't mention what web browser you're using or if you've tried more than one. Is the web browser the absolutely only program that exhibits this type of slow-response behavior? How are you connected to the Internet? Dial-up? Using what kind of modem? Or broadband? What type? What connection?
     
  7. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi DoubleHelix,

    I agree. It was a while before i connected the two in my mind,
    and of course i could be mistaken.

    So i went looking for any similar occurrences.
    And i found this:
    .

    But much of the corner-cutting by Chinese manufacturers is more subtle. They end up producing marvelously complex devices such as 300 kilopixel webcams, but because they're selling them on Ebay for $6, there are inevitably problems. For one thing, they have nowhere near the upwards of 80 megapixels that is claimed (I've mentioned this in the past). Another is that their drivers are so poorly-written that your computer will start misbehaving after installation (and who knows what logic bombs the Chinese secret service is implanting for use come Digigeddon). For example, I found that after installing a driver for a cheap Chinese webcam, my computer had trouble going into standby, sometimes hanging on the "preparing to enter standby" screen and requiring a reboot. (That's the kind of thing that really pisses me off, particularly if I show up at my computer in the morning and realize it's been in that mode all night.)

    .
    From: http://asecular.com/index.php?100424
    .
    I very rarely make any changes to my PC's settings.
    And i am pretty cautious with any system altering CDs or drivers.
    Once i suspected this webcams accompanying CD, i realised the timing was pretty definite that my problem had arrived at about that time.

    Thats not certain of course, but i am fairly sure its done something that has caused this problem.
    This problem is a lengthy delay in connecting, after which there is no other problem that i have noticed, normal speed is resumed.
    Even after turning off the browser (IE) when i turn it back on, things run at what seems to be normal speed. But if i turn off the PC, then i have to wait again.
    .
    My internet connection is with a fibre-optic system run by "Virgin" we call it a cable connection. I get between 2k and 5k speed depending on how lucky i am that day. I dont know what speed a k is.
    Its not Dial-up.
    Modem...
    Yes they gave me what they call a modem, but its not what i would call a modem, still thats its name that they gave it.
    What type...
    Well its not really a modem, it converts glass fibre signals into a form which can go straight into the ethernet point.
    What connection ...
    I'm trying to think.
    I dunno. An internet connection, via an ISP.
    .
    Anyway, i wondered if it was just IE so i tried F.Fox and that did the same.
    I think i also tried ping, but i cant remember,
    i could restart and try ping to see if that also makes me wait.

    I also tried to think of anything else that might be going on,
    but i couldn't think of anything.

    Only one thing occurs to me, that is a 'phone-home' instruction from the webcam makers, but i dont know how to tell. And surely such an instruction would need a connection, and would show up as a connection.
    Or would it ... i dont know.

    I will restart, and get back to you about ping.

    Cheers, John :)
     
  8. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi,

    Yes, ping made me wait too.
    Didnt seem quite as long though.
    Took ages to get to www.google.com
    And it had the cheek to tell me that it took about 30 milleseconds.
    It took about five hundred and forty thousand milleseconds.

    Then it worked normally each time after that.

    John :)
     
  9. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    If you're so careful about making changes to your computer, why did you buy a cheap Chinese web cam from eBay? That doesn't make sense.

    Perhaps you'll need to format and reinstall. I don't have any other suggestions.
     
  10. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi,

    The webcam is a reasonably priced unit from "RL Supplies"
    http://www.rlsupplies.co.uk
    a well known locally based computer supply outlet.

    [​IMG]

    It was not bought from Ebay.

    The manufacturers address is on the package,
    Labtech Inc.
    1499 SE Tech Center Drive
    Suite 350
    USA - vancouver WA 98683

    -------------

    It wasn't until later that i noticed
    "Made in China"
    in small letters on the back at the bottom.

    -------------

    My problem may be nothing to do with this webcams drivers
    I am going to do a search for files since 14-APR-10
    and have a quick look through.

    I looked at files CREATED since 14-APR-10
    and the CryptnetUrlCache came up.

    The CryptoAPI certificate chain validation logic seems to have been altered.
    I may be able to alter it back, i dunno.

    I dont know why it should have been changed anyway.
    Wether or not this is the problem i dont know, but
    according to http://support.microsoft.com/kb/887196 the time-out interval when
    checking for validation has been changed to 15secs each and 20secs per group.

    If it has many groups to check, that could be why its holding back for a while.

    This page of info does not say what the previous time-out was, but it
    must have been really short if this is the source of the delay.

    *****************

    I am somewhat out of my depth here, but i think that there are back-ups of system
    files somewhere on this machine.
    Or i may see how it runs without these files
    CryptnetUrlCache\Content\0797C381B2F87EB5A1D5573BD15BA4F4
    CryptnetUrlCache\MetaData\0797C381B2F87EB5A1D5573BD15BA4F4

    **************

    Hoping for some advice, as i may be going up the wrong tree here.

    John :)
     

    Attached Files:

  11. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Nearly everything is made in China, john1. That doesn't mean everything is poor quality.

    I can't understand most of what you posted, so good luck.
     
  12. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
     
  13. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Posting the same thing twice didn't clarify things for me, john1.
     
  14. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi,

    Yes, excuse me for that, it was unintentional.
    I still have not found the cause of my irritating delay to connect,
    but curiously it seems to be less of a delay now.

    Its down to about half a minute, after which all is normal again.
    Until a re-start then its another wait.
    During which time the keyboard and mouse are ignored by the PC.

    I tried having task manager running when trying to first connect after switch-on,
    and yes, two additional processes kicked in.
    I think they were SVHOST and IEXPLORE.

    At that time i think there were seven instances of Svhost running.
    I did this a few times, shutting down some of the svhosts would force a shutdown,
    and some wouldn't.

    John :)
     
  15. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    After a few attempts i got 'Task Manager' to run, but not right away,
    it waits until this mysterious big job is done, Which consumes the whole 100%
    of my computers attention for quite a while.
    Or in this case, until its nearly done.

    This particular screen shot shows the last half a minute or so of this annoying delay,
    followed by some more spurts of strange activity before settling down quietly,
    and allowing me to use the keyboard and mouse.

    I dont know what i did to get Task Manager to run, so i took a screen shot.

    I am still no nearer to getting rid of this annoying delay every time the PC is started.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918854

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice