Annoying problem with InCD

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
I got a TDK 52/24/48 CDRW for Xmas. I came with Nero and InCD software. I use it 99.9% of the time for backups using PKZIP. To do that, I have to format it for packet writing, and need InCD loaded at all times to be able to eject the discs.

Everything works perfectly, and compared to my old 8/4/32 Plextor, this thing really tears, even on the 12x CD-RW discs that I bought for it (can't wait 'til the 24x's to come out). However, InCD seems to have an annoying behavior. When loaded, about every 2-5 minutes, my cursor turns into an hourglass for 2-3 seconds. During that fleeting moment, you can't do anything. If you happen to be doing some intensive mousing when it occurs, it's aggrevating.

As far as I know, there is no way to "configure" InCD; it just is what it is, so I have no idea why it's doing whatever it's doing. I suspect it periodically checks to see if there's a disc in the drive... but why? Has anyone on TSG observed this behavior? If so, do you know what it's doing, and how to stop it?
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
If you go to http://www.ahead.de and update to the latest versions of Incd and Nero you should find this problem will stop.

The new version of InCd has the capabilities of changing cdrw settings via a right click on the icon in sys tray.

Also your new cdrw will not have been supported by the older versions 52 speed cdrws have only been supported since version 5.5.10 as far as i can see from their list of supported machines

Derek
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
If you have Win98/ME you can download Wintop. Keep it active with the window as small as possible so you can still see the programs running and the CPU cycles they are using. If you can’t observe it quickly enough you can use the cumulative use to determine what grabbed a few seconds of use. http://www.dewassoc.com/support/useful/wintop.htm If you have Win2k/XP you might use the Task Info trial – it has the same display plus some extra stuff Wintop doesn’t report: http://www.iarsn.com/download.html

If it is actually InCD taking the cycles there isn’t likely much you can do about it. If it happens only when there is a CD in the burner you could remove it of course. It should be triggered whenever a CD is placed in the burner but should not constantly check if the burner is empty. Have you upgraded the software? http://www.nero.com/en/index.html#download InCD appears to be a separate update.
 

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
Many thanks, guys, for the quick responses. Downloading the latest version of InCD won't help; I already have the latest version (3.5.19.1), and I still see no way to configure anything. It checks the drive when it's empty, because unless I'm backing up or creating a CD, it's always empty. Don't know what would happen if I left a CD loaded, but will try; maybe that will stop it.

Will also try Wintop to see if it can identify what's happening. Will report back on findings.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
It shouldn't be checking the drive all the time. It could be that INcd and nero don't yet support this particular drive fully. I can't actually see it on the list of supported drives.

I assume in the near future the next update of nero/incd will cure the problem.

You could contact nero via their website and ask for advice

Derek
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
8,709
When I used to use it, I turned it off in the windows start up list so it doesn't load with windows. Just turned it on via an icon on the desktop if I wanted to back something up. Don't know how often you back up, may not be practical for your use, but Incd won't check anything if it's not loaded.
 

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
Originally posted by dvk01:
It shouldn't be checking the drive all the time. It could be that INcd and nero don't yet support this particular drive fully. I can't actually see it on the list of supported drives.
That's hard to understand, since it was PACKAGED with the TDK drive. One assumes that when a manufacturer includes software with their hardware that it has been tested and found to work properly.

Moby: I have done exactly what you said... shortly after encountering the problem. After using it, I unload InCD using Task Manager (another annoying shortcoming of the program is that there is no other way to unload it). I have a shortcut on the Desktop to reload it when I need it. I shouldn't have to do that; when loaded and not requested, it should sit there and do nothing.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
Originally posted by DKTaber:
That's hard to understand, since it was PACKAGED with the TDK drive. One assumes that when a manufacturer includes software with their hardware that it has been tested and found to work properly.

Moby: I have done exactly what you said... shortly after encountering the problem. After using it, I unload InCD using Task Manager (another annoying shortcoming of the program is that there is no other way to unload it). I have a shortcut on the Desktop to reload it when I need it. I shouldn't have to do that; when loaded and not requested, it should sit there and do nothing.

It was probably tested to see if it would burn a cd not for every eventuality. cdrw manufacturers get a product out fast in case one of their competitors comes out with a faster one first. TDK have the first 52 speed on sale

Many manufacturers package a program with their hardware that doesn't fully work. Somethin like nero & Incd are continually evolving in order to cope with the new hardware that comes out.

! year ago the fastest cdrw would be 32 speed now it's 52 speed. next week 60/70 speed. the software versions packaged with the hardware are normally one or 2 versions behind the current because of storage and transport etc.

Nero and other burning software has to work with every different manufacturer and if the manufacturers keep adding improvements to their hardware, then the software coders have to keep up. But it's a never ending battle. nero could put facilities for 90 speed cdrws but it's unlikely that the older 12 speed burners would still work with it, so a happy medium has to be reached.

Derek
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top