1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Annoying Windows 10 popup

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Cherbstone, Mar 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jenae

    jenae

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Hi, pesky problem isn't it. Use the win + x keys to open command prompt(admin), copy paste this cmd:-

    reg query "HKU\S-1-5-21-3557978742-796275973-3901827305-1002\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run" > 0 & notepad 0 (press enter)

    Please copy paste the notepad output here.
     
  2. Cherbstone

    Cherbstone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    I did what you said but it just came up with this right at the very top top, 0 (press enter).txt-notepad and the page was blank and I couldn't copy and paste it as it wouldn't let me.
     
  3. jenae

    jenae

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Hi, type regedit into search and then press enter. Registry editor will open. Navigate to HKEY_USERS, then expand the > next to it, go to S-1-5-21-3557978742-796275973-3901827305-1002 expand again, then go to SOFTWARE, expand to locate MICROSOFT, expand to locate WINDOWS, expand to find CURRENT VERSION, expand again to find RUN, click on this to populate the right data payne, does the Bing entry show there?

    I suspect not, just want to confirm this first.
     
  4. jenae

    jenae

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Hi, IttechGyan, I have no idea what you mean, we have not yet discovered what process is calling this "open with" request.
    I do suspect bingsvc.exe, and we know where it is supposed to be it is a non essential process and can be safely removed, however it is also possible this is a malware issue, we try to be thorough and do the job properly.

    Cherbstone, can you open folder options and select the "view" tab put a check in the box"show hidden files and folders" apply and OK out. You can then confirm if the bingsvc.exe is located at:-

    C:\Users\Asus i5\AppData\Local\Microsoft\BingSvc\BingSvc.exe (according to the powershell cmd). Appdata is a hidden file, that's why we need to "show hidden files and folders"
     
  5. Cherbstone

    Cherbstone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Hi, sorry I have not got back sooner, I checked the registry and yes the Bing entry is in there.
     
  6. Cherbstone

    Cherbstone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    I looked this up and found it here
     
  7. jenae

    jenae

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Hi, can you also see if it appears under programs and features in control panel?
     
  8. Cherbstone

    Cherbstone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    I had a look it is not in there
     
  9. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    55,140
    First Name:
    Derek
    The file on question from examining the text file you uploaded is something to do with an Android APK. Do you have an android phone that you connect to this computer? or possibly a tablet computer that you have tried to install apps on.

    Although I don't suspect malware, lets see what this shows us

    Please download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to your Desktop or downloads folder.

    Note: You need to download and run the 64 bit version

    • Right click to run as administrator. When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
    • Press Scan button.
    • It will produce a log called FRST.txt in the same directory the tool is run from.
    • Please copy and paste log back here.
    • The first time the tool is run it generates another log (Addition.txt - also located in the same directory/folder/place as FRST.exe/FRST64.exe). Please also paste that along with the FRST.txt into your reply.
     
  10. Cherbstone

    Cherbstone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Hi, I have had an Android phone and tablet hooked up to my computer in the past when I transferred photo's etc. I could not copy those txt files as it says they are to big to copy here so I have uploaded them, sorry about that it was the only way I know to do it.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. jenae

    jenae

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Hi, In your post #20 you say you located the bing entry in the registry, Go back to this entry and delete this entry (perfectly safe to do so, as this only prevents the program loading at start it does not effect it in any other way).

    The advice from dvk01 is good, so proceed there, let us know how you get on.
     
  12. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    55,140
    First Name:
    Derek
    I can't see anything obvious starting or set to start in the logs. I can see the bing service entries that jenae was concerned about but it looks like the genuine one by file size .
    We can remove it, but it is highly likely that it will be reinstalled by Microsoft on next update
     
  13. Cherbstone

    Cherbstone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    I deleted it, shutdown, restarted and checked to see if it was there again and it wasn't. I still got the annoying popup at start though.
     
  14. Cherbstone

    Cherbstone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Hi, I finally found out how to get rid of the popup. I did find a webpage that said to check the task manager for a file that might look a bit funny and it said that theirs was M in the file box mine said Asus which was in the task manager so I disabled it and did two shutdowns and restarts and the popup has gone. Thank you to everyone that were helping me to find a solution, I appreciate it. Here is the link hope that's alright .https://www.trickyways.com/2018/03/...o-open-this-file-popup-on-windows-10-startup/
     
  15. jenae

    jenae

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Hi, back in post #6 and #8 we used notepad, I must have missed something, getting old, the fix is not new, been around since vista days. I am glad you were smart enough to figure it out, well done.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1206067

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice