Anonymous surfing through VPN and ZoneAlarm

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pizzaboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
20
Hi,

I've just setup a VPN so I can have anoymous surfing, however upon setup Vista asks me for the Network Type: Home, Work or Public. All these types aparently allow my computer to be "discovered"? How do I know if my computer is indeed anonymous?

I'm also using ZoneAlarm to protect my computer, can anyone help me with the following setup. I want all internet activities going through the VPN. If the VPN goes down, I want to prevent any other forms of internet access from happening.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
 

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,647
How are you implementing a VPN to make you anonymous on the internet? And where are you terminating your VPN tunnel?
 

pizzaboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
20
Err... bit of newbie when it comes to networking...

I purchased the IP VPN from a vendor, and aparently it features anonymous surfing, but obviously I want to check at my end whether I'm protected...

Obviously, I've checked my IP on a website, and it confirms the VPN IP is being used - is that really sufficient to say I'm anonymous? Surely not?
 

pizzaboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
20
The vendor is VPNGates.com. Why would the vendor matter? Surely theres a way I can physically check for myself?
 

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,647
The way this service works is that you are creating a VPN tunnel to their servers. Then you hop out to the internet using their IP and not your ISP's IP address block. When you bring up the tunnel and establish the connection to their servers, you are essentially anonymous.
 

pizzaboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
20
Sorry, guess I'm just bit paranoid when it comes to these things...

I'll question the ZoneAlarm on the security forum...

Thanks.
 

pizzaboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
20
Hmm... it appears there is no Firewall forum, so I guess the question remains.

How do I setup ZoneAlarm so all internet activity goes through the VPN and if the VPN goes down, no applications can access the internet?

Any ideas?
 
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
1
just be careful about using vpngates.com - i signed up sevice with them (pre-paid 4 months) Their connections work for 2-3 days then quit. After assigning me with 4 diferrent ip addresses in 3 weeks, their support responses ceased. Have not heard from them anymore. The company is out of China and good bye $40.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top