1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Another "Connected but can not use internet" post!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by RyouChan, Oct 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RyouChan

    RyouChan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Just what it says. Computer shows internet connection, can not use the internet. I can not use it in any way including messengers and other applications that require internet access and my browser. Here's my ipconfig /all stuff. Anyways I've tried just the basic "reset the router" and also tried using the settings i'd backed up in case something somehow got changed and nothing seems to work. I can ping my own computer, the other one on the same router, and my router. I can not ping the DNS server, or any IP that is outside of my li'l home network. What can I do about this? Is there anything, or do I just need to contact my ISP? The problem started happening all of a sudden, no visible event seems to have caused it. Everything was working fine and then now, nothing. It does not work for either computer, one is a Windows XP SP3 and the other is Vista Home Premium. If there is any more troubleshooting or things I can try, please post them. Thanks. <3

    C:\Documents and Settings\Dana Lortz>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : D9R49R21
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys Wireless-N USB Network Adapt
    er WUSB300N
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-70-3C-0D-59
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.105.28.11
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, October 06, 2008 11:44:20 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 07, 2008 11:44:20 PM
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i both computers are not able to connect - then I would look at the router /Modem / ISP

    I would check the line is up with your ISP

    what are the lights on the router indicating
    Unless you have updated a firewall

    log onto the router ther should be a status page showing if connected at all
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



    • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
    • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
    • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/756863

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice