1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

another problem it never ends

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by col, Dec 27, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. col

    col Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    356
    i updated adobe acrobat4 to 5 today and now it looks like i have
    on my pc in control panel the two versions 4+5 i think i should have deleted 4 before installing 5 would that be right if i am not right what can i do seeing the both versions are in control panel
    add/remove i will try to put a screenshot of add/remove so you all can see as a a/ment.col thanks in advance

    if this is in the wrong place sorry didn,t no where it should go.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    col I don't really know but try right clicking on each & going to properties & checking the size of it. If 5 is bigger than 4 ... ( im not sure about this ) then seems logical 5 is a stand alone... go back to the homepage & read also
     
  3. col

    col Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    356
    savvy lady thanks for you input in this problem it looks like i haven,t explained it properly, sorry for that.i have adobe acrobat installed twice i have 2 icons on the desktop which are 4+5 and in control panel in add/remove programs adobe acrobat 4+5 are installed on the one line as per a/ment on first post. so it seems to me they are installed in the same folder would that be right. can i just leave them there i have plenty of room on hard drive or should i delete them both and reinstall ver 5 which is the latest.
    thanks again.col.:rolleyes:
     
  4. Max19

    Max19 Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,222
    Uninstall version 4. Reboot. Uninstall version 5. Reboot. Reinstall version 5.
     
  5. col

    col Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    356
    max19 thanks for your reply to my post.can i just uninstall ver.4 and leave ver.5 or because they are in the same folder you must
    uninstall both i have noticed there is a uninstall option in ver.4 but not in ver.5 would it then be safe to just uninstall ver.4
    thanks again.col.:confused:
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
  7. col

    col Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    356
    eddie5659 i dont think i can delete from add/remove programs.
    (see first post) VERSION 4+5 are on the same line looks to me like
    there installed in the same place i have been told they will work okay like that i went to a site today that had pdf files and it worked ok even thuogh i have two versions ver 4 was my first one i updated to ver5 ver 5 came up and it seems to work fine
    so i think i will lave it like that for a time and see how it goes.col.
    thanks for your response may i also ask you how do i reply problem solved.col.:D
     
  8. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    I don't have my other PC on but I do have two versions of adobe acrobat on it and they have been on for months.
    The one is version 5 and the other is 3 I think.
    I did see in my windows\temp a .pdf file that I knew should of not of been there. I open up adobe acrobat and then the .pdf file and it was a file that I had seen from the .pdf file plugin in netscape. It just did not delete itself when done so I deleted it.
    I never really ever use adobe acrobat so don't worry about it.
    I did have the other version installed on another drive and both were in the add/remove.
    The old version was install by some program and the newer version 5 is what I got at adobe web site.
     
  9. col

    col Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    356
    hewee thanks for you quick reply, not bad all the way from sacremento to melbourne australia in a matter of minutes whats it going to be like in 50 years the mind boggles, i think i will do that
    it should be alright thanks col.have a good 02.
     
  10. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    It really is fast.

    If all works ok then just leave it be.
    Your pick on what to do.
     
  11. col

    col Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    356
    hewee. catch you later.col.:D
     
  12. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    OK let us know what you do.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63049

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice