Another program is using TaskManager!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Tainer32

Thread Starter
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
5
When i press alt ctrl delete, taskmanager dosnt show up. So i went to run and typed in taskmgr.exe. I got an error that said
"Another program is currently using this file".
Can someone please help me? Should I post a HiJack This log?

Thanks.
 

Tainer32

Thread Starter
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
5
thanks little den for the help... but no... its not there either :( I guess im just ganna reformat my computer. That way i can start fresh again. And get rid of those viruses my anit viruses wont catch.
Well thanks again!
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2004
Messages
47
You could try this..

Go to

hxxp://www.sysinternals.com/Utilities/ProcessExplorer.html

and download the program (it's free) and run it.

Now choose the menu "Find...Find Handle" and in the search box type in "taskmgr.exe" and it should show you who's got that file open...

-nt20
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2005
Messages
13
Ok since i have no life i registered to help ya out i got this the other day and its just some nub code from someone who thinks they can hack. I bet you go this from Lime wire. If not kazaa lite.

Go to C:\Program Files\winupdates and delete all that is their. You wont see it just in program fiels because it is hidden. then go to Msconfig in Start Run
and look for the file location that says C:\Program Files\winupdates
and uncheck it then check the folder to see if its still gone. then update all your virus defs and then scan and delete all files infected. and do an adaware scan and spybot even though nothing is picked up on spybot usually.

let me know if this helps
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2005
Messages
1
Thank you so much for the help! I ended the process "winupdates.exe" and Task Manager opened just as it should. And that program, well, it's pretty useful. Thanks to all.
 

Cheeseball81

Retired Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
84,315
winupdates.exe is related to malware.

You might want to post a Hijack This log in the event that it sounds you are infected with something.

Click here to download it: http://thespykiller.co.uk/files/hijackthis_sfx.exe

Let it extract to C:\Program Files

Close out any open browsers
Launch the program
Hit "do a system scan only"
When that finishes, hit "save log"
The log will open in Notepad
Copy & paste that log into this thread

Do not fix anything yet
 

Tainer32

Thread Starter
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
5
Sorry for not posting for a while. Here is my log


Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 11:40:06 AM, on 6/28/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\Service\AdskScSrv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wscntfy.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\winupdates\winupdates.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\msxct.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.dell4me.com/mywaybiz
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://yahoo.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.dell4me.com/mywaybiz
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.dell4me.com/mywaybiz
R3 - URLSearchHook: (no name) - _{CFBFAE00-17A6-11D0-99CB-00C04FD64497} - (no file)
R3 - URLSearchHook: (no name) - _{4D25F926-B9FE-4682-BF72-8AB8210D6D75} - (no file)
F0 - system.ini: Shell=Explorer.exe C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\winmgd.win
F1 - win.ini: run=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\mouse_configurator.win
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Apps\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: AcroIEToolbarHelper Class - {AE7CD045-E861-484f-8273-0445EE161910} - C:\Apps\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Adobe PDF - {47833539-D0C5-4125-9FA8-0819E2EAAC93} - C:\Apps\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [OSCD_Creator] c:\Dell\PreODM.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSConfig] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\MSConfig.exe /auto
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [winupdates] C:\Program Files\winupdates\winupdates.exe /auto
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [msxct] msxct.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunOnce: [OSCD_Creator] C:\Dell\PreODM.EXE /2
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MsnMsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe" /background
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MI1933~1\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\msjava.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\msjava.dll
O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O15 - Trusted Zone: http://ny.contentmatch.net (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=34738&clcid=0x409
O16 - DPF: {DF780F87-FF2B-4DF8-92D0-73DB16A1543A} (PopCapLoader Object) - http://www.popcap.com/games/popcaploader_v6.cab
O16 - DPF: {FA3662C3-B8E8-11D6-A667-0010B556D978} (IWinAmpActiveX Class) - http://cdn.digitalcity.com/_media/dalaillama/ampx.cab
O23 - Service: Autodesk Licensing Service - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\Service\AdskScSrv.exe
O23 - Service: Macromedia Licensing Service - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Macromedia Shared\Service\Macromedia Licensing.exe
O23 - Service: Intel NCS NetService (NetSvc) - Intel(R) Corporation - C:\Program Files\Intel\PROSetWired\NCS\Sync\NetSvc.exe

Thanks a bunch
 

Cheeseball81

Retired Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
84,315
You have no anti-virus protection for starters.

Get AVG (it's free): http://free.grisoft.com/doc/1
Install it and run a scan.

Then download and run the following:

Ad-Aware SE: http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html

Install the program and launch it.
First, in the bottom right-hand corner of the main window click on Check for updates now then click Connect and download the latest reference files.
Then, in the main window: Click Start and under Select a scan Mode tick Perform full system scan.
Then, deselect Search for negligible risk entries.
To start the scan, click the Next button.
When the scan is finished mark everything for removal and get rid of it. (Right-click the window and choose select all from the drop down menu and then click Next).

Micro$oft Anti Spyware BETA:
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/spyware/software/default.mspx

First in the top menu click File then Check for updates to download the definitons updates.
After updating look in the right side of the main window under "Run Quick Scan Now".
Click Spyware scan options.
In that window put a tick by Run a full system scan.
Then put a check by all three options below that then click Run Scan now.
When the scan is finished, let it fix anything that it finds
(Have it quarantine the items that have that option rather than delete just in case.)
It is a BETA program and there may be false positives.

Recent tests suggest that a combination of Ad-Aware & M$ AntiSpy removes about 80% of spyware/adware.
(Much higher than any other combination.)

Restart your computer.

Post a new Hijack This log.
 

Tainer32

Thread Starter
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
5
acctually, first of all i did run a virus scan before posting this log. Second of all THANK YOU! buutt... I am just going to reformat my computer anyway.
Thanks alot for all your help. But my computer needs to be reformated anyway.
And thanks again for everything. \
Bye
 

Cheeseball81

Retired Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
84,315
You're welcome.

Sorry it had to come to that, we could have helped.

Best of luck to you!
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2005
Messages
1
Tech Batman:
Thanks for the post. Your fix worked and saved me from a hard -drive reformat, maybe I can buy you a beer someday, if/when you're old enough. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top