1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Another Reboot and select proper boot device!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sherlack, Apr 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sherlack

    sherlack Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Hi all,

    i recently build a custome computer but i'm having problem with it since i put all parts togther. It giving me the following error:

    "Reboot and select proper boot device, or insert Boot Media in selected Boot Device"

    My build is:

    WD VelociRaptor 150GB SATA HD 10K/16MB/SATA-3
    Kingwin Mach 1 600w ATX Modular Power Supply
    HIS Radeon HD 4870 IceQ4 + Turbo 1GB PCIe
    Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy SE
    Intel Core i7-920 2.66Ghz 8M LGA1366 CPU
    Asus P6T Intel X58 Socket LGA1366 Motherboard
    Corsair XMS 6144MB PC12800 DDR3 1600MHz (3x2048)

    -----

    Ok so far what i have done is:
    - I set dvd-room as primary boot device at BIOS
    - HD is in First sata port
    - DVD-ROM is at second sata port
    - Using one memory unit atm. (plugged at the orange slot)
    - So far in BIOS it recognize the HD, Dvd-room, CPU and Memory.
    - I update BIOS to lastest version

    Anyone, help me please? I have no idea what to do now.

    thanks
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,875
    First Name:
    Rob
    I'd be testing the hard drive with the WD Diagnostics that you can download from their website.

    You should also try another SATA cable and check the power cable for the drive as well, maybe try another power cable from the power supply for good measure.
     
  3. sherlack

    sherlack Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the reply, I just got the computer to boot from dvd-rom, what I did was to install another dvd-rom that was IDE instead of SATA.

    Odd how computer could not boot with the sata dvd-rom.

    I got another question about whats normal or good temp. for a i7 920 processor. Right now my cpu is running with a temp. of 52 degrees celcius.

    Thanks!
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,875
    First Name:
    Rob
    The i7's do run hotter then the C2D's do from what I've seen. What is the max temp under load?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/822268

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice