1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Another soundcard question/problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by shaynas_mom, Feb 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shaynas_mom

    shaynas_mom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    I have not had sound since June 18, 2002, when a freak bolt of lightning actually entered my apartment, burnt out my old modem and killed my cordless phone. I purchased another modem, which worked fine, and now have cable modem, which works even better. However, I never got the sound back, and my boyfriend has extreme trepidation about just plopping a new sound card in, as he informed me that the sound card is integrated into the motherboard. I run Windows 98. This computer is an HP Vectra and it was my old computer from work, which was de-networked. He explained that a new soundcard probably won't "ignore" the old one, and that it's a "delicate" thing and he really doesn't want to just throw another one in. He says you have to do something to bypass this integrated sound card and he's not sure what.

    And the rest of the motherboard's fine, to my knowledge. Do you think the aforementioned would be true? Now that I have cable modem I'd love to have some sound...I am so tired of running a silent computer.

    Thanks for all help and information, as always!
     
  2. weeniebeenie

    weeniebeenie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    83
    Putting in a sound card isn't hard and certainly isn't any more difficult than putting in a modem. And they're cheap too.Chuck one into a spare PCI slot and see if it gets recognised and you can hear sound, if not jsut pop into the BIOS and look for an option to Disable Onboard Sound. On rare occasions a jumper needs to be changed on the motherboard. I've installed many sound cards and most of them are popped in place, installed and ready to go.
     
  3. shaynas_mom

    shaynas_mom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    I have no idea what the BIOS is...I'm totally ignorant.
     
  4. spaceman_333

    spaceman_333

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    968
    Hi,

    Have you looked at/for your sound card in the Device Manager? It may only need to have the drivers reinstalled. As beenieweenie says, replacing it is a snap. The BIOS is the "setup" when your computer first starts to load.....the pre-Windows enablement.

    Spaceman
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/118992

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice