1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Another Vista Limited Connectivity / Unidentified Network issue (Wired LAN)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by agrigg, Oct 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. agrigg

    agrigg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Hi everyone. My internet connection is provided through the use of a wired LAN connection in my building. I recently upgraded my computer and since the upgrade I have been unable to connect to the internet - The network is unidentified and only has limited connectivity. I have tried the standard Vista troubleshooting solutions (trying to get the IP address automatically, resetting network adaptor) plus other potential fixes such such as changing Speed & Duplex of network cards, disabling windows firewall/security alerts etc. installing the latest LAN drivers, disabling IPv6, enabling/disabling network discovery, changing the network to a private network and so on. I have even purchased a new LAN card to ensure it wasn't a specific hardware problem, but this hasn't solved the issue. My ipcongig information is as follows: (I am currently using a borrowed wireless internet card at the moment)

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


    C:\Users\Owner>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ASUS-QUADCORE
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    PPP adapter Telstra Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Telstra Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.233.141.204(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 203.50.2.71
    139.130.4.4
    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 10.11.12.13
    Secondary WINS Server . . . . . . : 10.11.12.14
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN Driver @ 3GPP (6280)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-A0-C6-00-00-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8169/8110 Family PCI Gigabit E
    thernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-17-3F-0B-05-19
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.193.66(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
    net Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-FC-81-2E-5E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:169.254.193.66%11(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:10.233.141.204%20(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 203.50.2.71
    139.130.4.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Is there anything that anyone can suggest here? This network connection was working fine with Vista (no configuration required) before I upgraded my computer. I've spent hours looking for a possible fix with no luck so far. Any help here would be greatly appreciated ;)
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    First do this:

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.



    Then follow the instructions here: Vista Can't obtain IP address from some DHCP Servers
     
  3. agrigg

    agrigg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Hi, thanks very much for your super quick reply, I tried this fix however I still have the same problem. Is there anything further that I should be doing?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You mention a "borrowed" wireless network card. Is that working? Has this machine ever connected?
     
  5. agrigg

    agrigg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Yes I can get online using a wireless card (not wi-fi... I am using wireless 3g mobile technology), so I am able to get online by using that. It is only when trying to connect to the LAN connection that I am having issues.

    On a side note I tried to plug my xbox 360 into the lan connection (not my computer) tonight and it said that it could not find an IP address. Might that suggest that the problem is actually not on my side?
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    It's sounding more and more like the building LAN isn't working properly. It should be as simple as setting up for automatic IP addressing and plugging the wire in. I can't imagine them wanting to manage static IP addressing, that would be a nightmare.

    If you can find someone with a laptop to test, that would further narrow down the issue.
     
  7. lodogg

    lodogg

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Here's a simle solution that I just decided to try on my own because nothing else worked but this had instant results. I feel it will help you too.

    1. Uninstall the driver to you network adapter.

    2. Reboot you PC.

    3. Re-install the driver for the adapter and try to connect.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/638369

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice