Another Vista Upgrade Issue

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

blitzdad

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
5
I ran Vista advisor on on my HP Pavillion M7480N, no major issues except for Norton 2006, which I had to uninstall and upgrade to Norton 2007.
Install went well until final reboot which only shows the moving green bar at the bottom of a black screen.
I have tried to repair, but no results because "Windows was never fully installed"

Any thoughts? :confused:
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,954
Format the disk to NTFS and forget norton. Reinstall Vista. If you need an AV program get AVG or Avast. They are both free and have a much smaller footprint than Norton.
 

blitzdad

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
5
Skivvywaver said:
Format the disk to NTFS and forget norton. Reinstall Vista.
Seems like a drastic fix. Is there any way to revert back to XP?
Also -
If I try to start repair, it just sits there 'searchung for problems', which goes on for hours with no HD activity or results. I really dont want to format and start all over.

Thoughts?
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2006
Messages
1,773
Skivvywaver said:
Format the disk to NTFS and forget norton. Reinstall Vista. If you need an AV program get AVG or Avast. They are both free and have a much smaller footprint than Norton.
Hi Skivvywaver
Did microsoft not say that the security of vista would not require an additional AV
Regards
Rex
 

blitzdad

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
5
rexgrant said:
Hi Skivvywaver
Did microsoft not say that the security of vista would not require an additional AV
Regards
Rex
I would be happy to delete Norton if I could get back in..........
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,954
blitzdad said:
Seems like a drastic fix. Is there any way to revert back to XP?
Also -
If I try to start repair, it just sits there 'searchung for problems', which goes on for hours with no HD activity or results. I really dont want to format and start all over.

Thoughts?
Well, you grabbed a brand new OS just like I did. You are going to have issues and hopefully you will have "friends" you can lean on.

Format the disk and start over. It isn't hard but an upgrade never goes right......never.
 

blitzdad

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
5
Skivvywaver said:
Well, you grabbed a brand new OS just like I did. You are going to have issues and hopefully you will have "friends" you can lean on.

Format the disk and start over. It isn't hard but an upgrade never goes right......never.
Enough Said....
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,118
I assume you did an online Norton update ... wrong move .. It doesn't come with a disc.
I think there's a way to contact Norton and get it back in.

Sooner or later .. You'll want to break the Norton habit anyway.
I finally went cold turkey ... and got AVG and Zone alarm.
I read somewhere that Vista doesn't like Norton.

I will be updating to Vista Home Premium soon ...
But it'll be in a second SATA HD ... installed where the HP USB Personal media storage should go.

Then I can boot to either OS (either HD) till I decide Visa is working.
 

blitzdad

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
5
Noyb said:
I assume you did an online Norton update ... wrong move .. It doesn't come with a disc.
I think there's a way to contact Norton and get it back in.

Sooner or later .. You'll want to break the Norton habit anyway.
I finally went cold turkey ... and got AVG and Zone alarm.
I read somewhere that Vista doesn't like Norton.

I will be updating to Vista Home Premium soon ...
But it'll be in a second SATA HD ... installed where the HP USB Personal media storage should go.

Then I can boot to either OS (either HD) till I decide Visa is working.
So is there a way to get back in to the system to delete it? I cant get past the above screens.....
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top