1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Another Windows 7 Question

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by vaikepois, Dec 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    Is there any way change taskbar color without aero mode?
     
  2. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    Yes right click on the desktop
    Select personalize
    Select window custom color
    Play with the sliders
    This will change your entire them however rather than just the taskbar.
    I read your other thread.....Are you stuck in basic theme?
     
  3. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    No... Aero takes more ram ( when aero enabled then process dwm.exe is enabled [ Dekstop window manager ] which takes 8-11mb ram -.- So i wanted use basic mode with black taskbar..
     
  4. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    You can disable transparency {which pretty much brings you back to basic} then you will have better controls of the theme than choosing basic....but will not be taxing your system with transparency graphics.
     
  5. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    What u mean
     
  6. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    Uncheck this option while you are playing around with the sliders
     

    Attached Files:

  7. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    1)I mean " ..but will not be taxing your system with transparency graphics. " what ya mean by that

    2)If i turn off it will take less ram?
     
  8. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    It will be easier on your graphics card mainly..you may have slightly less used ram as well
     
  9. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    pff i hope i get my 4gb ram soon -.-
     
  10. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    You have 32 or 64 bit 7 ?
    It doesnt take alot to run 7 really I have 2 gigs for 32 bit and can run a virtual machine under it without any problems...while intentionally infecting the guest OS
    with 32 bit you are limited to a little over 3 gigs by the system itself....4 gigs would be very nice though for a 64 bit install
     
  11. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    i have 32bit os -.- I cant crack somehow let pc have 4gb ram without getting 64bit os
     
  12. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    Nope even if it shows you are using 4 gigs it will be using a little over 3 anyway
     
  13. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    pff -.- i guess il live with 3.25gb i think it was limit -.- Too much hassle get 64bit..
     
  14. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    Enough to power Aero
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/969247

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice